Vacuum Seal A Mason Jar


Okay, this about the coolest trick I think I’ve ever found on the internet!!!

In the past I’ve only been able to seal wide mouth mason jars with my Food Saver using the jar attachment. I haven’t been able to do regular mouth jars because I don’t have that size attachment. Well, take a look at these pictures!

    

Yes! It does work! You can seal a mason jar without the jar attachment! 

I put a lid and ring on a regular mouth jar, and then put it into the medium-sized Food Saver canister. I attached the canister hose, pressed the button marked canister and…. IT SEALED THE LID ON THE mason jar inside the canister!!!! Can you believe it?!?! I think this is such a neat trick. And from what I understand you can do the same with quart sized jars in the larger canister.

So if you want to vacuum seal mason jar, and you have the canister set, don’t waste your money on the mason jar attachments, just use your canisters. Oh, and this is also a great way to seal those jars of flour and other small particle items. The flour won’t gum up the hose this way. Usually I have to put a piece of wax paper on top of the flour, now I don’t have to waste the paper.

Let me know if you try this at home!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ <><
“Much food [is in] the fallow [ground] of the poor,
And for lack of justice there is waste.”
- Proverbs 13:23 NKJV

This entry was posted in Equipment, Food Saver and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Vacuum Seal A Mason Jar

  1. GrammyTammi says:

    I was able to find a video on YouTube showing both ways to seal a mason jar. The demo on doing it in a canister starts at 2:22. Enjoy!

    • Vanessa says:

      When I take my jar out of the canister I have to release to air to actually open the canister. But when I do I’m pretty sure it relases the air in the jar as well. What is the secret to using my canister to seal my jars? If I have to buy the attachment I will but I wanted to see if this worked first.

    • Shar says:

      It didn’t even seal! You can see the lid lift up.

  2. Shelly says:

    this is great! I am also doing research on sealers that are hand pumped instead of using electricity…just in case! Been looking at reviews on Amazon. Just a thought for you as well.

    • GrammyTammi says:

      Hi Shelly, thank you for your comment.

      If you do find a hand operated vacuum sealer, please let me know! I would like to have one too.

      Also I discovered that you can seal any jar with a lid that has a little rubber on it! For example, the jars that the green olives come in seal perfectly using this method and so do the spaghetti sauce jars. I wouldn’t use the pickel jars though, I can’t get the pickel smell out of them.

      • Tammi,
        Try soaking the pickle jars in plain ol white vinegar for a day or so then washing like you normally would after. I do it all the time, though I toss the jars in the dishwasher after soaking. No pickle smell at all.

    • JayJay says:

      A brake bleeder from Harbor Freight–I love it–no power needed.

  3. Pingback: Reuse Jars & Cans for Vacuum Sealing | My Food Storage Journey

  4. k says:

    I do this all the time

    • GrammyTammi says:

      Hi K, isn’t it fun to vacuum seal mason jars? And I just discovered that a manual break bleeder can be used to vacuum seal when there is no electricity. I’m going to pick one up at the local auto parts store and write a review on how it works out. Thanks for commenting on my blog post and I hope to see you back again.

      T <

      • JayJay says:

        It’s a brake bleeder, like for cars, and it is from Harbor Freight. Cost for me, $23.
        It works beautifully–when TSHTF, we can use this and dry like our granny did and still seal in mason jars.
        The lady in the video didn’t even put the ring on which is necessary for mason jars–I do this all the time with olive jars, salsa jars, etc, too.
        It must be a glass jar and a metal lid to seal and you have used free jars, and kept them from the land fill.
        I have jalapenos, onions, green peppers in mine. Stop throwing away free jars–you may need two or more tries, but when you release the pressure, you will hear the lid ping.
        Good luck, ladies.

  5. Connie says:

    I researched manual vacuum sealing methods a few years ago and ended up buying a Pump-N-Seal system for something like $55 and I’ve sinced replenished my supply of seal strips twice. These folks give great service!

    However, I found that I tended to procrastinate sealing up my jars and bags of dehydrated things because of the time and effort it took to do the actual sealing. My kitchen looked like a disaster area for months, until gardening season was over and I had no more excuses. I bought the manual system because I thought a portable manual system would be smart if we have to bug-out, and because I thought it would be too expensive to buy the Food Saver system. Well, guess what I did. Last month I went to Costco and bought the Food Saver on special, and then a couple weeks ago I bought the two jar sealers online. I love it! Shoulda done that in the first place. I’ve sealed a few jars, and I’ve started re-sealing jars that I open when I need some but not all of the contents. Now I have a whole whack of miscellaneous jars that I want to try sealing with the Food Saver–I guess i’ll have to go buy me one of those cannisters! And I can’t wait for gardening season to come ’round once again!

    I’m loving your site, Tammi! Thanks so much!

    • Follow up: I read all the review on those canisters because I was determined to buy one–but discovered that they have a nasty habit of cracking on the bottom, sometimes even after one or two uses! That made me so sad because I have a lot of random jars that I have to use the Pump-N-Seal to seal, which is a lot of work.

      Someone, please, create an adaptor! The other day I thought we had one–but there wasn’t a way to make it tight enough to do a good job. I think all that would be needed is a little bit of tubing and some silicon to make a plug…

      • I’ve been reading about the canisters cracking too and have pondered the possibility of strengthening the canisters before first use with good quality duct tape like the kind use on actual ductwork to stop air leakage. Yes, it would be ugly but if the canister is being used for jars, ugly may not matter.

      • GrammyTammi says:

        Great idea Seahare!!!

      • Connie says:

        Oh, do tell us if that duct-tape on the bottom of the canisters works! ‘Cause I would MUCH rather use the Food Saver to seal my random jars!

      • JayJay says:

        Connie–that was more than likely misuse–get the canister–you won’t be sorry–it is a life saver–I mean a food saver!! :-)

  6. Judy says:

    Can you tell me what criteria you use for sealing the jars with dried goods, with the Food Saver and when to use the Oxygen Absorbers. I can’t seem to understand the difference or when to use which. Thank you for all you share with us.

  7. brenda says:

    I have been looking all over the internet to find these canisters. I am so glad i founf this video. Thank you

  8. Oh thank you so much. I realize this is an old post but I have the wide mouth jar sealer but for some stupid reason never got the reg mason jar sealer. I have the canisters too which i have never used before gonna have to get all my accessories out. I just recently started to do bulk storage. I have always kept about three weeks of food in the cupboards because we live in earthquake country but decided i needed to up myself to about six months. So this post is awesome plus i can reuse some of the regulare store jars i always end up throwing away. Also imam gonna have to go read your whole blog now. :-)

    • GrammyTammi says:

      You’re welcome Kitty! And thank you for your comment. I haven’t posted in over a year, but I’m still working on becoming more self-reliant. Maybe I should start blogging again, I’m always finding new and interesting things to do. God Bless You!

  9. JayJay says:

    Ladies–use the ring on that canister sealing. I have never had a lid not seal.

Leave a Reply

