Sun Oven Experiment – Chocolate Chip cookie mini muffins


Today I wanted to try an experiment. I wanted to bake chocolate chip cookies in the Sun Oven, but all my cookie sheets were way to big. So I decided to use mini muffin tins.

One tin fits very nicely in the chamber so I can bake a dozen cookie/muffins at one time. Today is a clear sunny day and the outside temp is about 90 degrees. The inside of the oven reached 350 degrees before I opened it to place the cookies in to bake.

Every time I bake/cook something in the Sun Oven, I’m amazed. And very happy that I’m not heating up my house with the oven and then cooling it down with the AC. A few days ago we actually made pork ribs and chicken in the oven!!! Yes, it does cook meat too! I took pictures and I’ll try to get them posted in the next few days.

After about 15 minutes of baking time, my little cookie-muffins were done and ready to be taken out to cool. If you bake this way, make sure you give the cookies a little time to cool so they’ll come out of the tins in one piece.

I better get moving… looks like weather is on the way! This oven can cook in high winds, but not with cloud cover and rain!

I also just started a batch of bread that needs at least another hour for rising and then 30 mins to bake. I think I should be okay though because it “never” rains over my house….  LOL!

As I was putting in the second pan, I realized that I might have something that may work as a cookie sheet. I found the bottom part of the broiler pan for my toaster oven is dark and just small enough to fit in the oven chamber. So I’m gonna give it a try…

Not quite a dozen, but maybe I could use it with the bigger scoop to make a half a dozen larger cookies. I’ll try that next time. And I need to remember that cookies are about the only thing that can “burn” in the Sun Oven, so I really need to watch them and set a timer.

After about 15 minutes they didn’t quite look done so I put the timer on for another 5 minutes.

That may have been a bit too long. They seem overdone and I was afraid they’d be crunchy… I don’t like crunchy cookies… I like soft chewy cookies. These came out crunchy on the outside and still a little chewy on the inside… I know Joel will like them!

These little guys are getting frozen so I can take them with us camping. We’ll bring along the Sun Oven and have fresh-baked cookies!!! I hope the aroma doesn’t lure the bears into camp.

I just went to check on the last batch and I need to remember not to overfill them. The key for me is to put just the amount that my small scoop can hold. I had a little extra so I tried to divide it up among the rest of the cups. Not a good idea… I don’t like they way they spread out on the top. And when I tried to take them out of the tins, the split and left half the cookie in the pan. I like my other ones better. Oh well, live and learn.

Here are the results, minus the last dozen that didn’t come out of the pan very easily.  After today’s experiment, I can tell you, if (or when) I don’t have electricity and can’t cook in the house, I’ll be very thankful to know that I could whip up a batch of these little yummies! And I think my hubby would agree!

><>~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~<><
“Enter into His gates with thanksgiving,
[And] into His courts with praise.
Be thankful to Him, [and] bless His name.”
Psalm 100:4 NKJV

This entry was posted in Food, Global Sun Oven and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Sun Oven Experiment – Chocolate Chip cookie mini muffins

  1. Pingback: Camping With the Sun Oven | My Food Storage Journey

Leave a comment