Way Too Many Frozen Bananas


Bananas – I’m sure you’re probably like us when you shop at Costco. You see those large quantities of bananas in a bag for under $1.50 and you just can’t walk by without putting a bag in your cart. Then a week later, if your family is small like ours, you have spotted bananas on the counter. When that happens I toss ‘em into the freezer. Yes, just as they are, peel and all, and not in a bag or container. Eventually they turn black in there, but don’t be dismayed, the peel is a great airtight container for the ripe banana which is still perfect inside.

I’ve been tossing so many of them into the freezer in the past few months that they have taken over my freezer. So I decided to make something. I have a tried-and-true banana nut bread recipe that I use most of the time from the old red & white Betty Crocker book. But I wanted something different this time. So I started searching my favorite recipe/food storage blogs and ran across a recipe for Sour Cream Banana Bread over on Mel’s Kitchen Cafe. I became a fan of this website after SIL sent me a link once for another recipe. I’ve tried quite a few of her recipes and every one of them is great!

I don’t know why I picked a recipe with an ingredient in the name that I didn’t have… sour cream. Oh, I do have powdered sour cream that I got on a recent run to Honeyville Farms in Rancho Cucamonga. But I wasn’t ready to open the #10 can and start experimenting with it yet. So I started reading some of the comments to see if anyone had substituted yogurt for the sour cream. I didn’t read all the comments but I read enough to figure that I’d give it a try.

Now… my problem was the yogurt. I had purchased Greek yogurt last month at Costco… was the unopened container still good? Had the best buy date past? The answer to both those questions was Yes! I’m finding this more and more and more. Even though the best buy date on dairy has past, the product in the containers is still good. I’m not sure if that’s because we hardly ever open our fridge or what, but I was happy to have “good” yogurt for this recipe.

Here is a picture of the finished product. I added eight semi-sweet chocolate chips to the tops of some of them. Hubby likes chocolate! I also made a batch of mini muffins (without chips) for myself.

In the recipe, I not only substituted the sour cream for Greek yogurt, but I also used powdered egg. I used 1 tbsp for each egg, so I used 2 tbsp all together. I didn’t have to add any extra water either.

As for the bananas, I pulled three of them out of the freezer and started pulling the peels off. Oh boy, did my little fingers freeze. Note to self (and anyone else reading), take bananas out ahead of time. Let them thaw and then take the peelings off. This also makes them easier to mash, which I didn’t do either. I didn’t read the word “mashed” in the recipe until my numb little fingers had already broken the bananas into pieces and tossed them into the mixer that was running. :(

The result… the muffins where so so yummy and moist! I sent the entire tray off to hubby to share with his co-workers. I sent him a text about an hour after he got to work today asking how they liked the muffins. His response,  “They are all gone already!” :) Thanks Mel for sharing your recipe and making my hubby, me and his co-workers smile and for helping me use up way too many bananas in my freezer!

><>~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~<><
 I marvel that you are turning away so soon from Him
who called you in the grace of Christ, to a different gospel,
Galatians 1:6 NKJV

This entry was posted in Food, fruit, yogurt and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

