Homemade Pizza


Do you like pizza? I really like pizza! But I don’t like how much it costs at the restaurants and take-out places. And you don’t have much choice of toppings on the frozen store-bought pizzas and I don’t have room in my freezer to store them anyway.

So, one day while I was surfing one of my new favorite recipe websites (Mel’s Kitchen Cafe), I stumbled across a pizza dough and pizza sauce recipe. I did actually find another recipe for pizza dough on another website. But after making pizzas with both dough recipes for my niece and her family, Mel’s recipe won hands down!!! And the best part, it uses both white and wheat flour in the recipe.

The pizza sauce was very yummy and flavorful. How did I not know that pizza sauce was so easy to make at home? Come to find out, I’m learning that there are a lot more things that can be made from scratch at home with a little research. Don’t be afraid, experiment!

At first I wasn’t thrilled with making homemade pizza because I was hesitant about rolling out the dough into circles and then trying to transfer it to my pizza stone without a pizza peel. I’m a little bit of a perfectionist and I wouldn’t like to serve up a funny looking “texas” shaped pizza. But once again YouTube came to my rescue with a video from bearlysceneranch2011 on how to press the pizza dough into a square half sheet pan… BINGO! Now I could do that! And if it was a little off in shape, I could live with it.

Here’s what I ended up with, what do you think?

 

Pizza can be made completely from food storage. But you are probably asking yourself, “Cheese? How can cheese be food storage?” I thought the same thing until I watched Katzcradul’s video on waxing cheese.  Have I done this yet? No. Am I planning on doing this? Most definitely!!! Funny story… I asked my 96 year old grandfather if they waxed cheese when he was a boy on the farm. He said, “Wax cheese? Didn’t need too, it didn’t last long enough to wax it!” LOL!

As far as the rest of the ingredients, they can either be canned (tomato sauce, olives, pineapple, ham) or dehydrated (spices, mushrooms, bell peppers, onions). I’ve even found a pepperoni that has a very long shelf life (but darn it, I can’t find the link for it now, should have written it down in my notebook.)

Actually our favorite pizza toppings are just mushrooms and olives. And we definitely don’t like canned mushrooms on pizza, bleh! Besides, have you noticed that you can’t find a canned mushroom made anywhere other than China. (If you find a brand that’s made in the good ole USA, can you let me know… pleeeeease!) For our pizzas we’ll use dehydrated mushrooms… which reminds me… I need to add dehydrating mushrooms to my to-do list.

On a side note…. anyone notice the price of peanut butter going up. I was looking at my records the other day where I’d recorded the purchase of a small jar of Skippy peanut butter for $1.66 on 04/22/11! That same sized jar was over $2.25 in the store the last time I looked. Also the big double jars of peanut butter at Costco used to be around $8, last week they were over $10! A few weeks ago I almost bought a large jar of creamy generic brand of peanut butter from Food 4 Less for almost $7, last week it was over $1 more! I have stocked up on peanut butter because I’d been reading that the price per ton of peanuts had skyrocketed due to the floods and weather. I’m glad I did, now we’ll be able to share with some families that have kids that I know will be needing peanut butter :) I also have two #10 cans of peanut butter powder (wished I bought more). We’ll be using those for Noreen’s homemade peanut butter cups cocoa mix, peanut butter cookies and no-bake chocolate peanut butter cookies! Yummo!

… off to search the internet for more great ideas!

><>~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~<><
So she fell on her face, bowed down to the ground, and said to him,
“Why have I found favor in your eyes, that you should take notice of me,
since I [am] a foreigner?”
Ruth 2:10 (NKJV)

This entry was posted in Food, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Homemade Pizza

  1. Vicki Walton says:

    Hi Tammy! We live in the country and just got high speed internet. I can finally keep up with your posts now. I used to have to go to the library (on limited time) and I had so much to look up – especially in the prepping area. Anyway, I’ll definitely be visiting you often. Glad you are doing better. Can’t wait to try your pizza recipe. Thanks for sharing! Vicki

    • GrammyTammi says:

      Glad you’re back Vicki and congrats on getting high speed! Let me know how your pizza turns out, I just know you’re gonna like it. I making two loaves of whole wheat bread tonight in my brand new KitchenAid that hubby bought me for my birthday! I’ll be sharing pics of it in the next few days.

  2. Pingback: Honeyville Tomato Powder | My Food Storage Journey

Leave a Reply

