Thinking, thinking, thinking…


Thinking, thinking, thinking… is about all I’ve been doing since I decided to dive head first into this journey. Lots of different things have crossed my mind, how to cook, what is going to be the scenario rules for the final six months, where to start first, do we have enough money to complete this little project of mine, is 1-year too long…. on and on and on, the questions keep coming. But I think that’s a good thing, I think we’ll all learn a lot and have a lot of questions answered by the time this journey of mine is complete.

Last night, I was able to finally answer the “How long?” question. I kept asking myself over and over whether or not a full year was really feasible right now. I talked it over with my great hubby Joel. And “we” came to the conclusion that if we prove we can do this for six months, then we should have no problem doing it for a year. We eventually want to have a year’s worth of food storage, but for now, realistically six months is the best we can do. With that in mind, I’m changing the journey from 18 months to 12 months. The first six months are the same… researching, planning, purchasing and preparing what we will need. The remaining six months we will only consume what we have stored in the pantry or what we can grow in the backyard.

Next subject… what will be the scenario and what will be the rules for the final six months? I have decided that they only part of our lives that will be affected is food preparation, cooking, storage and consumption. The rest of our daily lives will be unaffected.

I still have not decided on the particulars of cooking. During my initial research I did find a very ingenious item called a sun oven. This would be perfect for cooking food here in our desert climate. We will be purchasing one soon and I can’t wait to start testing it out. 

I also found a personal solar panel that I’m thinking would be great to use for such things as a crock pot and maybe a very small refrigerator that could house food items for short periods of time. I’m really leaning towards not using any kitchen appliances during the final six months because I think it would be more realistic. If a major catastrophe does happen,  most likely there will not be gas or electricity for an extended period of time. Which means the refrigerator, toaster oven, microwave, stove and small appliances could not be used for cooking. There is the option of propane, but to store six months of filled propane bottles in my garage is something I don’t want to do. Besides, then the propane runs out, what do you use for cooking?

I’m still working out all these details. As I make decisions, I’ll post them to the Scenario Rules Page. I’m also going to start a page that will include all the information on the pantry inventory.

I have so much more to write about, but this is it for now… there are many more days ahead for writing…

TRIVIA:
The word “prepared” occurs 109 times in 107 verses in the NKJV.

This entry was posted in Equipment. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thinking, thinking, thinking…

  1. Mom says:

    Don’t forget you can also use a charcoal barbecue for some outdoor cooking and for heating liquids, etc.
    I bet Shirley could have given you some great ideas…too bad she doesn’t use the computer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

