First Augason Farms order


Today I placed my first ever order for long-term food storage products for the pantry. It should arrive at our front door sometime next week. I’m excited to get started testing the recipes I want to use during our six month mock disaster. I actually think I’m more than excited, I’m chomping at the bit to get started!

Here is what will be delivered next week from Auganson Farms (you can click on each product and get more details):

  1. whole dried eggs
  2. low-fat milk alternative
  3. butter powder
  4. southwest chili mix
  5. honey cornbread muffin mix
  6. instant non-fat dry milk

The first recipe I’m going to test is my tuna casserole in a pot. Most of the ingredients are canned except for milk and butter. The other ingredients are canned tuna, canned sweet peas, and boxed mac n cheese. Yes, I know, it doesn’t sound all that great, but we like it and we eat it at least once a month. I’m going to try the recipe with both the instant non-fat dry milk and the low-fat milk alternative. I know some of my recipes won’t work, but I’m really hoping this one will.

After the casserole I’m going to try the southwest chili and cornbread mix. Of course, I’ll blog about each recipe that I try and all those that I put together from my pantry items.

Before I end this post, I just wanted to let you know that I found out today that hamburger can be canned, as well as chicken, pork and beef. There are some good videos on the internet about how to do it. A pressure canner is definitely going to be added to my shopping list. I’d like to can some ground hamburger, open it a week or so later and try to see if I can make tacos, spaghetti sauce, and hamburger pie with it. I also want to put up canned chicken breast to see if it works well in poppy-seed chicken, enchiladas or chicken tacos. I can’t wait to try all the great ideas that are running around in my head.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Who did this?
“So he took butter and milk and the calf which he had prepared, and set it before them; and he stood by them under the tree as they ate.” [Gen 18:8 NKJV]

 

 
 

 

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First Augason Farms order

  1. Kathy says:

    So love this idea of yours!! Wonderful, wonderful! You bet I am going to start adding more dried items to my shelves!
    I love all the powdered items and didn’t even know butter could be in powder form.
    Shelf life 10 years is awesome!!
    I use a lot of powders in my soaps and my soaps last a long time too.

    Thank you for doing this, you r getting me back into the mode of being back in the 70’s doing all of this again.
    One great goal for me!

    Kathy

    • Tamara says:

      Kathy, thank you so much for excitement about my “little” project!
      I’d be more than happy to have you test some of the powdered butter when it arrives!
      And maybe I could invite you over to give me a lesson on canning when I order my canner?

Leave a Reply

