Bread two ways


Wow, I have been busy researching & reading. I think I’ve read a little bit about almost every subject dealing with food storage. And most of the time I’m surfing so many different internet waves that I’m getting dizzy. So I’ve decided that I must get focused, find one wave and ride it to the shore. Grab hold… I’m catching the bread wave!

Bread two ways… what the heck does that mean? Well, I’ve discovered that you don’t have to have packaged yeast from the store to make bread. I know, I know, I bet you knew that already. But I didn’t and I’m excited to try making bread both ways, with & without packaged yeast!

First, bread with yeast. I’ve had this great book for over a year now. It’s called Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes A Day. I actually have used the book and made one of the “starters” from it. But hubby and I weren’t eating bread and I got frustrated and stopped. Well, I’m going to start again, today! And if I have to I’ll give the loaves away to folks at church. Who wouldn’t want a fresh homemade loaf of bread?!?

Second, bread without yeast. I found this great blog posting about fermenting foods that includes a section with a recipe for making bread starter. And here is another full post on making your own yeast and how to dry it for use later. It states in the posts that you can let this ferment continually in a warm place, no refrigeration needed. This would be a great option if there is no electricity. You do have to keep feeding it though, so that might be a challenge with just two of us in the family.

The picture above shows the three samples of bread starter that I made today. The one in the glass mason jar on the left is made with wheat flour and water, the glass mason jar in the middle is white flour and water, and the large plastic container on the right is the Boule bread starter from the Artisan Bread book.

A few things I’d like to say here. First, when I made the wheat flour starter, I added the water and flour, put the plastic lid on it and shook it. That wasn’t very smart… the flour didn’t mix totally with water. I took the lid off and used a rubber scraper to mix it together better. I was a little smarter on the white, I added the water and flour and then mixed it with the rubber scraper. (Don’t ask me why I used plastic lid on one and metal on the other. I think I had a reason when I did it, but can’t remember why now… doh!) While I was making the Artisan bread, hubby walked into the kitchen and I lost count on the cups of flour. It was supposed to be 6 1/2 cups, so it either has the right amount or 7 1/2 cups… LOL! We’ll see what happens. The Artisan must sit on the counter for two hours and then it can be put in the refrigerator.

Wow, that’s a lot of bread starter. Anyone up for some homemade fresh bread?!?

Okay, here’s another picture, you can click on it to zoom in. It’s the temperature in our house. The recipes say that the temperature must be between 70 and 80. It’s only 71, I hope that will work. I can’t believe in the desert I’m worried if it’s warm enough in the house for my bread starters to do their thing! I guess I’ll wrap the non-yeast ones in dish towels tonight to keep them warmer.

Something to ponder: The Artisan starter needs to be kept in the refrigerator. So I’ll have to think about how much I’ll want on hand when we get to the six-month mock disaster. We will be using a refrigerator during that time, but it will be very small (90 w). We’re hoping to have a solar panel by then but it won’t run much. But we hope it will run the fridge and one small cooking appliance (crock pot, electric fry pan, or kettle). And since the refrigerator will be small, I’ll have to really think about all the things that will be stored in it.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Wow! Did you know that the word “bread” occurs over 346 times in the NKJV.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bread two ways

  1. Pingback: Strawberries and All-Purpose Flour | My Food Storage Journey

  2. Pingback: Bread without Dry Active Yeast… aka Sourdough | My Food Storage Journey

Leave a Reply

