Bread, Day 2


Day 2 of bread/yeast making…
         

Wow! The Artisan bread really grew over night in the refrigerator. The book says that it’s enough dough to make four 1-lb loaves and it can stay in the fridge for 14 days. I guess I added the right amount of flour even after hubby’s interruption yesterday. I lost count and didn’t remember if I had added six or seven cups of flour.

And the yeast making… well, not sure how that’s going. The only change I can see so far is a small amount of liquid that has built up on top of the mixture. I need to read the instructions again to see how many days it needs to sit before being “fed” more flour and water. This will be a great method if it works, but since I have so much yeast stored, I don’t think I’ll be doing this again. But it’s good to know if I can do it or not.

Okay, now for the picture gallery for Day 2 of Breadmaking…

Almost a pound… need practice scooping out enough dough.

They sat on in their pans for 1 hour & 40 mins. Ooops, bucket is empty, need to make some more.

 

Bread is done and crackling like the books says they should! Can I wait? HOT bread and butter....

 

WHO CUT THE FIRST PIECE??? Now I have to eat it... the melting butter is too much for me to resist!

 
Just one more

Just one more, please... no one will know... 🙂

 

Just half a batch this time...

Just half a batch this time for Pita bread. It calls for half of 1-1/2 tablespoons of yeast and salt, which is 3/4 tablespoons. I don't have that spoon. Oh well, I hope 2-1/2 teaspoons will work.

 

Now I’m off to search for videos on how roll out dough for pita bread. I might have to try making them more than once. But I am planning on making Asian short ribs for dinner tomorrow night, so if I completely fail tomorrow, at least my hubby will still have a decent dinner before heading out to play practice 🙂

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My husband Joel is playing Thomas in the passion play at church!
Thomas occurs 12 times in 12 verses in the NKJV .

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bread, Day 2

  1. Pingback: Strawberries and All-Purpose Flour | My Food Storage Journey

Leave a Reply

