Bread, Day 3


Toast and jamBreakfast anyone?
I toasted up a piece of the homemade bread from yesterday and slathered it will a little butter and some strawberry preserves. It was awesome! And yes, I did use two knives, I don’t like jelly in my butter, or butter in my jelly… yucky!

I checked the new batch of Artisan Boule dough in the fridge and it’s doing just fine. Later this afternoon I’m going to try to make pita breads with it. The batch of dough I made yesterday is only a half a batch so I’ll see how many pitas I can get out of it.

Yeast Day 2Hey it looks like something is happening to the yeast today?
Do you see the layers? Not sure what’s going on, but at least something is happening. The articles I’m using for yeast making state that I should “feed” them today and tomorrow. Both give different amounts of how much flour and water to add so I went ahead and added 1/4 cup water & flour to both. I was supposed to add wheat flour to the one on the right, but before I knew it my hand had scoop up the white flour and tossed it in… doh! Oh well, it is an experiment, right?

Yeast Day 2, fedDo they look fed to you?
So now I’ve fed and water them and put them back to bed, and I won’t have to deal with them until tomorrow. But I do need to think about what I’m going to do with them on day 5. At that point I’m supposed to take 1/4 – 1/2 cup and use it as a yeast replacement. Or I could try to dry it and store it? I think I’ll do both. I should have quite a bit in each jar by the time day 5 comes along. So I think I’ll experiment with drying and using. But instead of using it as a yeast replacement in the Artisan bread recipe, I’ll try a regular bread recipe from my Betty Crocker cookbook. (Don’t you just love that cookbook. My mom always had one in the house and that red and white cover makes me think about the San Leandro house… okay, now back to the present….)

Another bread product I want to start making again are flour tortillas. When we lived in Oxnard, our neighbor’s mother showed me how to make them. They were so easy and inexpensive to make at home. I often wonder why I stopped making them. Fresh flour tortillas are so so yummy… but then again, I’m discovering that everything homemade is turning out so so yummy. 🙂

I found two videos yesterday on making flour tortillas that I want to share with you. The first is kinda cute and funny, the second video is a little grainy, but has a lot of good information and shows some techniques I hadn’t seen before. Enjoy them and I’ll post later today or tomorrow on whether or not I had success in making/baking pitas.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
 Then she gave the savory food and the bread,
which she had prepared, into the hand of her son Jacob.
Gen 27:17 NKJV

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bread, Day 3

  1. Tamara says:

    Here are links to the two articles I was talking about in this post:
    Basic Sourdough Starter and Making Your Own Yeast
    Both are from the Off The Grid News blog.

  2. Pingback: Strawberries and All-Purpose Flour | My Food Storage Journey

Leave a Reply

