Pita bread


Well… the first attempt wasn’t totally what I expected but at least they tasted good.

For my first batch of pita bread, I used the Artisan Boule that I prepared the day before. I decreased the ingredients to make only a half batch and it seems to have worked. This will be nice to know for the future since Joel and I alone can’t possible eat all the bread products that can come from a full batch.

To make the pitas, I first divided the dough into same-sized pieces, formed each piece into a ball and then tried to roll them out into 1/8 inch thick circles. It does take some practice and I think I finally got it right, but not until the very last one.

           

Baking them, rolling them, and flipping them all at the same time was a challenge. As a result, some of them cooked longer than others.

The last one, my best one, cooked so long, it was nothing but a hard cracky pitiful thing by the time I rescued it from the oven. It immediately made its way to the trash. After I tossed it, I thought maybe my dogs would have liked it as a treat.

Sorry girls, maybe next time...

Even though the pitas didn’t look as uniform as I’d like,
they were quite good and had nice pockets ready for a yummy filling!

I think if I can perfect my skills on rolling out the dough, I’ll be more happy with the results. I also need to keep a better eye on the cooking time. But all in all, not a bad first attempt. If we were in survival mode and this was all we had to eat, I’d be very happy!

Next time I practice making pita, I’m going to try another recipe that has olive oil as an ingredient. I like the taste of the Boule dough but I think it works better in loaf or roll form.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
“Now the disciples had forgotten to take bread,
and they did not have more than one loaf with them in the boat.”
Mark 8:14 NKJV

 

This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pita bread

  1. Kathy says:

    They look good to me!

    • Tamara says:

      Thanks Kathy! I’m such a perfectionist that I wanted them to all look exactly the same, like the ones in the package at the store. But they taste so good, it doesn’t stop me from eating them anyway. Maybe next time I make them, I can invite you over for a tuna pita sandwich lunch. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Pita & Tuna Sandwiches | My Food Storage Journey

Leave a Reply

