Canning Butter (First Attempt)


Earlier today I went online to review the butter canning videos that I’d found on YouTube. While doing that I ran across an article from Preparedness Pro that reminded me that I don’t need to pressure can the butter once it’s been put in the jar. I guess canning isn’t the right word because the process doesn’t involve a pressure canner. So I’ll refer to it the same as Preparedness Pro does and call it bottling butter.

After I reviewed the instructions again, I set out to make my first batch of bottled butter. I had four pounds of butter in the refrigerator, but since this was my first attempt, I only used two pounds. If I needed to change something, I could do it when I used the other two pounds.

I needed to wash and sanitize the jars, so I loaded up the dishwasher with one case of 1/2 pint jars, two cases of quart jars and all the bands. I put the lids in a pot of boiling water on the stove. I’m not going to be using the quart jars until later next week, but I figured I’d at least get them washed.

The 1/2 pint jars went onto a cookie tray and into the oven at 250 degrees for 20 mins. This is done to make them hot so when the hot melted butter is poured into them they don’t crack.

I put a double layer of kitchen towels on the counter as a resting place for the jars when they come out of the oven. And I washed all the other tools needed and put them on the counter too.  I also took the lids out of the pot and put them into the rings. I think this will make it easier to put them on the jars.

I started cutting up the two 1-lb blocks of butter and placing the pieces into the stock pot to boil while the jars were in the oven heating up. When the foam started to form on top of the butter, I skimmed it off as I saw demonstrated in several videos. I placed the foam into a bowl. I understand it can be used also, it just can’t be bottled. I’ll put it in a jar in the fridge when it cools.

The whole house smelled like hot buttered popcorn! And I was able to get most, if not all, of the foam off the top of the butter. I saw that it was boiling so I turned on the timer. Five minutes later I started pouring the butter into the bottles four at a time. Then I put the lids on top and tightened them down. I repeated this process just once. I guess you can only fill eight jars of this size with 2 pounds of melted butter.

BUT WAIT!

WHAT’S THIS IN THE BOTTOM OF THE PAN?!?

DID I SCORCH THE BUTTER!!!!

How did I do that? Did the butter start boiling before I got all the foam off and didn’t notice? Or was the flame on the stove turned up too high? Darn it! At any rate, I think I just wasted 2 pounds of butter. I’m so sorry hubby! 😦

Bitter sweet moment here… I just heard another ping down in the kitchen. That means that another jar of scorched bottled butter has sealed. I’m glad they are sealing, but darn it, I don’t think they are going to taste very good. And they definitely won’t be making it to the pantry shelf. They’ll be going directly into the fridge! If I get up the nerve to try it, I’ll let you know if I end up trashing the whole lot or not. 😦

(Updated 04/04/2011 @ 9:38 PM: Don’t know why I said 8 jars, if you look at the picture you’ll definitely see that there are nine! So, my mistake, NINE jars of butter were made from 2 lbs of butter.)

You know, I’m glad I did this now instead of during a time when ruining 2 pounds of butter would have been a “really” bad thing. Next time I’ll:

  1. Put jars in oven after butter has been cut up and is in the pot.
  2. Start butter on “low” heat until melted. Then bring up the heat a bit.
  3. Don’t fiddle with lids and rings when trying to melt butter.
  4. Watch butter more closely so I know when it’s started to boil and set the timer immediately.
  5. Don’t worry about the jars in the oven, they’ll be fine.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ <><
“When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; And through the rivers, they shall not overflow you. When you walk through the fire, you shall not be burned, Nor shall the flame scorch you.” – Isaiah 43:2 NKJV

This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Canning Butter (First Attempt)

  1. Kathy says:

    Hmmmm! I think they might be good. Test one.
    But why r u canning butter when you can use dry butter?

    • GrammyTammi says:

      @Kathy, yeah I did buy the powdered butter, but I was wondering if it could be used like butter for toast or pancakes. I think I read somewhere that it didn’t work on toast. So I thought maybe the bottled butter would be nice to have in the pantry too.

  2. Pingback: Bottled Butter, The Next Day | My Food Storage Journey

  3. Pingback: Dinner, Hamburger Pie | My Food Storage Journey

  4. Pingback: Out For Delivery | My Food Storage Journey

Leave a Reply

