Presto Pressure Canner, shipping soon!


I’m so excited! The 23-qt Presto Pressure Canner that I order on the 2nd is about ready to ship and should be here before April 12th (Happy Birthday Mom… LOL!)

If you click on the picture to the left, you can see what I ordered a little better. The top item is something everyone needs… a Dummies book! Do you have any? I’ve bought a few and I figured this would be a great time to get another one. When it comes to canning, I do consider myself a “dummy”… haha!

The next item down is one of my favorite kitchen tools, the Kitchen Plus. It’s a manually operated food processor and it’s wonderful. This will be my third one! Funny thing is, it’s only the bowl that I really need. I have duplicates of all the parts. I could never bring myself to throw away the parts when I bought a new one. I was afraid that as soon as I do, one will break and I’d wish I hadn’t. I don’t think I’ll need three sets of parts, so maybe this time I’ll be able to throw away at least one set. I did try to buy just the bowl, but with the cost of shipping, it was the same price as the whole set. Go figure! And after doing a little more research, I found one that I think will be even better. So if I ever have a bowl go bad again, I think I might try a different type. I think the bowls might be cracking because I put them in the dishwasher. This time, I’ll wash by hand and see if I get longer use out of it. But I have to admit, that I have had the current one for well over 5 years! When the new one arrives, I’ll take pics of both so you can see how well it held up, despite the crack in the bowl.

The third item on the list is an extra rack for the canner. It does come with one, but with the extra rack I can stack the cans and get twice as much done. Not a bad investment to save on energy.

When the order arrives I’ll spend a day or two reading up and then I’ll get to work canning. First item on the list… butter! I’ve watched quite a few videos on it and it looks fairly easy, but we’ll see. I recently found another video on canning butter from CovenantVideos where she puts the butter in the oven while it’s warming up to save energy on melting the butter… great idea!

After canning butter, I’m going to try canning cooked ground beef, because I can’t possible go six months without spaghetti or tacos or hamburger pie! I’ve seen one video on how it’s done, but I’m going to search for more. Maybe the Dummies book with have information on that too!

Off to the internet, in search of more canning videos… (Thinking out loud: If I successfully can cooked ground beef, I may do it permanently. Seems like it would save a lot of time. Just cook it all up one day and can it. Then when it comes time for din-din, just open the can and warm it up. Seems like it would save some energy too from washing the frying pan over and over and over again. ) 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ <><
“Remember your Creator before the silver cord is loosed,
Or the golden bowl is broken,
Or the pitcher shattered at the fountain,
Or the wheel broken at the well.” – Ecclesiastes 12:6 NKJV

This entry was posted in Equipment and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Presto Pressure Canner, shipping soon!

  1. Pingback: Dinner, Hamburger Pie | My Food Storage Journey

Leave a Reply

