Dinner, Hamburger Pie


Before I can fully stock the pantry for our six-month mock disaster. I need to know what recipes will work with the limited food items and cooking appliances that will be available. A dinner that I’m hoping will work is one of my go-to meals. It’s called Hamburger Pie and I grew up eating this and my children grew up eating it too.

The ingredients are:
1 lb ground meat (I use a combination of turkey and beef)
2 cans green beans
2 cans (or 1 large can) tomato soup
1 package frozen cauliflower
1 tablespoons butter (more or less if desired)
2 tablespoons sour cream (optional)
salt & pepper to taste
1-1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese (optional) 

The recipe is pretty simple. Brown the ground meat and drain it. Open the cans of green beans, drain them and add them to the pot.  Open the soup and mix it in the pot too (do not add water!) Cook the cauliflower and mash (or process) it like mashed potatoes, adding butter, sour cream and salt/pepper to desired taste. Spoon ground meat/soup/bean mixture into a serving bowl, top with mashed cauliflower and finally cheese.

         

The original recipe that I grew up with used mashed potatoes instead of cauliflower. But some years back, when I was on the South Beach Diet, I replaced the potatoes with cauliflower. Hubby and I actually like it better that way. But since, cauliflower can’t be canned, and I don’t think it will be in the garden, I’ll have to go back to the potatoes. Oh, I also don’t use the cheddar cheese anymore either.

Now, let me introduce you two of my wonderful kitchen tools that I use to prepare this meal: Kitchen Plus and Pampered Chef’s Large Micro Cooker! The Kitchen Plus is a really useful and versatile tool. (I mentioned in a previous post that I’ve had two of these and recently purchased a third one.)

The Kitchen Plus is a hand crack food processor and really does a great job making mashed cauliflower. I know I’ll be using this tool a lot during our mock disaster.

The Large Micro Cooker is a real time-saver. I only use it for steaming cauliflower in the microwave, but I’m sure there are other uses for it. Unfortunately since I won’t have a microwave during our mock disaster, this little baby will be kept tucked away in the cabinet.

How will I make this during our mock disaster? Well, I’m hoping that my experiment canning ground meat will work. (Which reminds me… in the ingredient package you’ll notice that I have 1 lb of ground beef and 1 lb of ground turkey, yet the recipe calls for 1 lb of ground meat total. I always cook 1 lb of each together, then divide for two meals. I can use it for anything that calls for cook ground meat: spaghetti, tacos, hamburger pie, etc. Helps save time in the kitchen and also a little healthier.)

If canning ground meat works, then the rest is pretty simple. I can put a jar of canned meat, two cans of green beans and tomato soup into a pot, which will be put into the sun oven to cook. For the mashed potatoes I’ll have potato gems, canned or butter powder, and sour cream powder in the pantry. I’ve only ordered the butter powder so far. I plan on putting the others on my next order. I’m very anxious to try this recipe and my Tuna Casserole in a Pot. But I can’t do anything until I get my Augason Farms order, purchase the sun oven and receive the pressure canner. Did I mention I’m ANXIOUS?!?!?! 🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ <><
“And the king said to them, “I have had a dream, and my spirit is anxious to know the dream.”” – Daniel 2:3 NKJV

This entry was posted in Equipment, Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dinner, Hamburger Pie

  1. Pingback: Dinner, Soft Tacos | My Food Storage Journey

  2. Pingback: Canning Cooked Ground Beef | My Food Storage Journey

Leave a Reply

