Canning Jar Sizes


When I wrote about bottling butter, I made a mistake. I stated that the jar I was using was a 1/2 pint…. wrong! I brought out all the sizes of jars I have so I can show you what sizes are available and so that I won’t make that same mistake again.

From left to right: wide-mouth quart, wide-mouth 1/2 gallon, wide-mouth pint, regular mouth pint, regular mouth 1/2 pint, and finally the ones I use for bottling butter are actually called jelly or jam jars.

After I put the jars out on the counter, I realized that I have jars from three different manufacturers: Kerr, Ball and Golden Harvest. And though I have both wide-mouth and regular mouth jars, I’ll only be purchasing wide-mouth in the future. Most of my canning will be meat and the wide-mouth work best.

Here’s what I did with three of the 1/2 gallon jars I picked up from Ace Hardware last week. I vacuum sealed pecans, walnuts and almonds that I purchased from Costco. Almost a full bag fit into the 1/2 gallon jar. The remainder of each bag, I mixed together and put them into a quart jar. I’ll use it later to make granola. (If I can find granola… seems none of the stores around here carry it anymore. I think I might be able to find it at Trader Joes.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ <><
“While the earth remains, Seedtime and harvest, Cold and heat, Winter and summer, And day and night Shall not cease.” – Genesis 8:22 NKJV

This entry was posted in Equipment, Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Canning Jar Sizes

  1. Patti Hocking says:

    Have you heard of reusable seals? I thought I overheard a lady in my church talking about them.

Leave a Reply

