Dinner, Soft Tacos


I wanted to use the leftover ground beef/turkey from yesterday for soft tacos tonight. I needed to practice making flour tortillas so tonight was a perfect time.

Hubby said the tortillas were too small to fold up as a taco, so he made a “sandwich”!

I think he liked it…

I liked my two tacos better.

When I first thought of adding soft tacos as a dinner option for our food storage, I immediately decided against it because of the cheese ingredient. Then I found dehydrated cheese at Emergency Essentials. The reviews say it’s good so I think I’ll give it a try. It is expensive, but if we don’t use a lot, it might be worth it. Sure would be nice to have soft tacos in our menu. If the cheese is good, then we’ll use it during the mock disaster and possibly after until the can is empty. Then I’ll buy another one but it won’t be opened until a real emergency. Dehydrated cheese may work in an emergency situation, but I don’t think it’s something I’ll want to eat regularly. But then again, you never know.

(UPDATE: I knew there was another reason I didn’t want to add soft tacos to food storage… lettuce & tomatoes!!! I could used canned diced tomatoes, but it wouldn’t be the same at all. Also unless I’m missing something, I don’t think there is anyway to dehydrate, freeze-dry or can lettuce. So Soft Tacos are officially off the list!)

It amazes me how many food items I’m finding can be dehydrated, freeze-dried, and canned. In my research the only item I haven’t been able to find for food storage is cauliflower. I guess I’ll have to spend some time experiment with growing it in the garden.

Which reminds me!!! Joel pointed out to me this evening that the basil plants have sprouted!!! (I look at them every morning and have seen nothing. He comes home takes, one look at them, and voila, sprouts! Go figure…)

I planted seeds for four different herbs and tomatoes on April 2nd and wrote about them briefly in the post titled Shopping. Since the basil has sprouted, I guess I’ve proved you can use an Ott Lite to grow seedlings in a house with solar screens. Now I hope the tomatoes start to sprout. And I must get out into the garden and start putting something in the ground! I’ll write more about the seedlings, seeds and the garden later.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ <><
“And in the process of time it came to pass that Cain brought an offering of the fruit of the ground to the LORD.” – Genesis 4:3 NKJV

This entry was posted in Food, Internet Resources and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

