Catching Up…


Over the past few days I’ve been sick and haven’t had the energy to post. While I was in bed resting, I spent some time on my laptop doing research. This post will be about what I found and a few things that I did. I know you like pictures, I’m sorry there aren’t any on this post. But there will be pictures on the next post.

PLANTING:
I can’t believe I actually found the strength to plant some vegetables. But I was feeling guilty that the plants that we’d bought would die in the house and it would be a waste of money. And come the fall, I’d be upset that I didn’t have fresh vegetables to add to meals during our six-month mock disaster (I really need to find a better name for the second six-months of this journey!) So in the ground went tomatoes, strawberries and peppers. It was really really windy today and I hope they’ll survive. I still have the cantaloupe, squash, cucumbers and one more tomato to plant.

MENU PLANNING:
In the comments section of a post I was reading on Everyday Food Storage a reader mentioned using the calendar function in Google to make meal planning easier. It has a repeat function and you can create multiple calendars (breakfast, lunch, dinner, dessert, snacks) which makes meal planning very organized. I’ll setup a calendar as soon as I’ve tested recipes and are ready to add them to the calendar. I think this would be useful for every family and I’ll provide instructions on how to set it up for meal planning.

ANOTHER FOOD STORAGE COMPANY:
While looking for dehydrated cheese products that I could use for tacos or pizza, I discovered another food storage company called Shelf Reliance. The have a line of food storage called THRIVE with many more products than Augason Farms. I like that some of their products are available in smaller mylar bags. We’re going to go shopping on their website on Sunday instead of our normal Costco shopping. They’ve also uploaded lots of videos on YouTube with recipes using their foods. In between coughing, taking meds, and napping I watched quite a few of the videos. They are very well done and packed with great information.

MAKING YOGURT:
Okay, I admit it…. I’m learning that all the things that we buy at the store don’t have to be made in some fancy factory somewhere. They can be made at home! It’s amazing and scary how much we rely on the grocery store for “all” our food needs.

One of these items is yogurt and Joel eats it everyday. I can make it cheaper and healthier at home, and that’s awesome! First I found a blog post on making yogurt in the crock pot. Then I found a YouTube video on the everydayfoodstorage channel on how to make yogurt from powdered milk. And I found other videos on the same channel for making yogurt cheese that can be used for cheesecake, yummo!!!! It can also be turned into cream cheese and sour cream substitues. Can’t wait to feel better so I can test those. And I found out that you don’t need to buy yogurt from the store as a starter. You can buy packets of freeze-dried yogurt starter on Amazon. That will be perfect for food storage, since we won’t be able to “grocery shop” for fresh yogurt during our six-month mock disaster. I’m sure I’ll be doing several posts on yogurt making. 🙂

MAKING MAYONNAISE:
I’d been debating whether or not to include recipes with mayonnaise in our food storage menu. Then I discovered a recipe on a post on another blog that substitutes vinegar for fresh lemon juice. And I think I could even substitute the mustard with dried mustard. Can’t wait to test this too!

That’s all for now… I’m starting to feel better and I have work to do in the morning, but hopefully I’ll be able to work on this project a little tomorrow.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ <><
“Now He could do no mighty work there, except that He laid His hands on a few sick people and healed them.” – Mark 6:5 NKJV

This entry was posted in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Catching Up…

  1. jj says:

    I have tried Thrive products, and have been happy with the quality and price. I prefer to buy ingredients over buying pre-made meals, and the Thrive stuff works well for that.

    You can use a bit of your last batch of yogurt as a starter for the next batch, which, if you are organized about it and always remember to make more yogurt before the last batch runs out (I am terrible at that), you don’t even need freeze-dried packets…

    • GrammyTammi says:

      Thank you for your comment jj. I’m glad to hear that you like the THRIVE products. I’m anxious to order mine to give them a try. And I am like you and will be buying ingredients and not pre-made meals. I will use your suggestion for using a bit of the yogurt for the next batch. But I still want to keep a few of the starter packets in food storage as backup. Have you tried the crock pot method of making yogurt or do you have a yogurt machine? Have you made any from powdered milk?

  2. Pingback: A Busy Day With Food Storage | My Food Storage Journey

Leave a Reply

