Shopping And Coupons


I’m hooked! I’ve been reading the Krazy Coupon Lady blog and Facebook posts and I’m completely hooked! Couponing is going to be a great way to save money while building our food storage. There is also another site called Frugal Coupon Living that I’ve been reading too. Both have lots of resources for coupons and daily posts about the latest savings and coupons.

After discovering these sites, I spent a couple of days reading posts, printing internet coupons, clipping coupons from Sunday’s paper and getting a little organized. Then I decided to give it a try to see how I would do at Walgreen’s and Smith’s.

At Walgreens I bought 25 items for $50.11, BUT I also received $13 in register rewards to use like cash on my next visit. And I got another $1.50 diaper coupon. (Side note: I don’t have children at home but I do have a grand baby girl arriving at the end of October!) So I actually only spent $37.11. I know it’s not the type of savings you see on TLC’s Extreme Couponing, but I think they go way overboard anyway. I was very pleased with my savings on this trip.

After Walgreen’s, it was off to Smith’s. Joel and I had been there the day before (see pictures below), but I had coupons now!!! I bought 27 items for $41.72, BUT I also received $7.00 in a gift card and register rewards to use like cash on my next visit. So the actual total was $34.72! And if you look at the items, most of them are normally high-priced (cereal, milk, semi-sweet chocolate chips). The cash register receipt states that I had $5.35 in coupons, $25.90 in Fresh Value Savings, for a total savings of $31.25. AND we earned 47 points towards our next gasoline purchase, which is now at 104 points. (If you’re not familiar with Smith’s in Nevada… every time we spend $1 at Smith’s, we get 1 point. Every 100 points is equal to 10 cents off per gallon of gasoline. We can roll over our points to 1000 for a total of $1 off per gallon!!!)

On Sunday, Sam’s Club had a “no-member” day. We could get a one day pass to shop at Sam’s without the non-member upcharge. We walked the aisles and decided that we’d continue shopping at Costco, and would not be getting a Sam’s Club member card. And Sam’s doesn’t accept American Express which we use for the yearly cash back awards. But we did pick up a few things for food storage: chicken bullion, beef bullion, and bread flour. On the way home we stopped at Smith’s to do our regular shopping and picked up some beef & chicken to can later in the week.

Last night, Joel went to Lowe’s and picked up our “first” food storage shelving unit from Lowe’s. If you go back to a previous post that has pictures of my pantry, you’ll see that the cabinets were getting jam packed with food storage. I have lots of cabinets, but there still isn’t enough room to store six months to a year of food. Especially the kind of food I want to eat! So I was really happy to be getting more storage. (I so wish I had a basement…)

After we put it together, we started inventoring our food storage and moving some of the items to the new shelving unit. Doesn’t it look nice! And we moved the Gamma Vault that holds the rice, from the pantry hallway to the side of the shelf.

So, our food storage journey is progressing nicely… now I just have to get moving on testing recipes and figuring out final totals of food needed for our six-month mock disaster.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ <><
“”Are we not considered strangers by him? For he has sold us, and also completely consumed our money.” – Genesis 31:15 NKJV

This entry was posted in Equipment, Food, Pantry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shopping And Coupons

  1. Mom says:

    I was wondering when you were going to discover couponing. 🙂 I’m interested to see how that works for you. Are you also going to keep track of all your expenses for the entire time. It would be interesting to see how much you save overall.
    I look forward to your posts every day.
    Mom

  2. Pingback: Food Storage Racks | My Food Storage Journey

Leave a Reply

