First Jar of Canned Chicken


Yesterday I posted this picture of two jars of our canned chicken that I planned on using for dinner. We pressure canned these back on…….. well……. I can’t seem to find any posts or pictures about my first attempt at canning chicken. That’s a little disappointing. I really thought I’d at least taken pictures. Oh well, I know I canned the chicken because I have 5 jars of it! And I know I did it on April 21st, because that’s the date on the jars. 🙂

I had quite a few mushrooms left over from the stuffed mushrooms I’d made for the cast party at church so I quartered them up.

I also had some rice cooking in the rice pot in the microwave and…

I had just bought some jars of stuffed green olives. There was minced garlic in the fridge and onion powder in the pantry. Looks like dinner to me! 🙂

I only used one jar of the chicken and it was plenty for Joel and I for dinner with enough leftover for his lunch today. It was really yummy and I think I’ll make it again, but I will definitely add more green olives next time. And because I’d put a cube of chicken broth into the jar before I pressure canned it, I had chicken broth to add to the pan too.

The texture of the chicken was very moist and tender. It actually shredded up quite nicely in the pot and I’ll know it will make excellent shredded chicken for tacos or enchiladas. The chicken broth cube added a lot of flavor too.

Final results: It worked, it makes a very quick meal, it tasted very good and I will do it again! 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ <>< ❤
“”Salt [is] good; but if the salt has lost its flavor, how shall it be seasoned?” – Luke 14:34 NKJV

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First Jar of Canned Chicken

  1. Mom says:

    Sounds so yummy!!!

Leave a Reply

