The Best Whole Wheat Bread Recipe


I made the best 100% whole wheat bread yesterday! And I owe it all to Crystal over at Everyday Food Storage. When I watched her first video on making whole wheat bread, I was a little skeptical… could I really make nice light (as she puts it “squishy”) whole wheat bread? The answer is YES! And if you follow her recipe, you can too!

She’s created information packed handouts page on her website. If you scroll down and click on the Bread Handout link, you’ll get a PDF with the recipe all the instructions. I’ve printed it out and put it in sheet protectors in my three-ring binder cookbook. You will want to do the same. And don’t forget to watch her bread videos on her YouTube channel. I learned tons from watching Dough Enhancer for Making Homemade Bread, Making Bread: Part 1 (More Food Storage Recipes), Making Bread: Part 2 (More Food Storage Recipes).

Okay, so now on to my testing of the recipe. First thing I needed to do was get the items for the dough enhancer because I didn’t have them in the pantry or food storage. The potato flakes and powdered milk were easy, but the vital wheat gluten… argh! I had to go clear on the other side of town to get it at Whole Foods and it wasn’t cheap. But hubby and I are going to remedy that this weekend… we’re headed to St. George, UT to stock up on food storage and to get items I don’t have yet. Believe me, vital wheat gluten will be one of the first things I put into my cart.

Something I need to point out in the picture above. I think I bought the wrong powdered milk because it says “instant” on the box. I didn’t notice that when I bought it. So I didn’t use it. Instead I used the Morning Moo’s Low Fat Milk Alternative that was in our first order from Augason Farms. In Crystal’s recipes she uses “nonfat non instant dry milk” and I can’t seem to find a product that matches that term exactly. I’ll have to send her an email and ask her what brand she uses.

On to making bread… I measured out all my ingredients and began adding them to the mixer while it was running. Next time I’ll just add all the ingredients and THEN turn on the mixer like she does in her video.

I let the KitchenAide knead the dough for 13 minutes, because the recipe said 12-15 minutes. My machine makes some noises while kneading so I think I’ll be doing it from hand from now on. Besides it will be good practice during TF-WROL.

Then I put it into a cold oven, covered with a dish towel to rise. I also turned on the light to add a little warmth and a dish of hot water for moisture. The desert is so dry I didn’t want the bread to dry out. One and half hours later it had risen so I punched it down.

Next I formed it into a loaf. (I should have watched her Part II video again before I did this. I really like the way she forms the loaf.) About 30 minutes later it had risen and it was time to bake.

It looked so pretty in the oven. And then when it came out, I tapped it like she say’s to do and it did indeed sound hollow. And again I wish I had watched the videos one more time before making the bread, because I would have learned that I needed to take it out of the pan right away. I didn’t and it was a little difficult to get out, but a thin rubber spatula helped me out.

Look how thin I was able to slice the bread and it didn’t “squish” down. I think I could have even gotten it thinner, but I didn’t want to waste any of it. It could have been cooked just a little longer. But that doesn’t have anything to do with her instructions. It’s my oven, I really think it’s off by about 25 degrees. I need to get an oven thermometer to check it.

(Insert drum roll here…) PEANUT BUTTER & JELLY sandwiches for dinner… I sure was craving a PB&J sandwich and this really hit the spot. You’re right Crystal, PB&J is a good test!

Later in the evening after returning home from church, the bread was calling to me… I had to have a cheese sandwich with mustard and lettuce. Yummy! This was one of my favorite sandwiches growing up as a kid. I love the crunchy iceberg lettuce between the soft slices of bread and cheese.

And this morning, I got up bright and early so I could make another loaf with the following changes:

  1. substitute butter powder for real butter
  2. substitute bread flour for whole wheat flour because I ran out of whole wheat
  3. let it rise a little longer the second time
  4. divide it in half for two smaller loaves
  5. bake it in the sun oven

I hope it works…. you’ll find out tomorrow….

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ <>< ❤
“”It is like a mustard seed, which a man took and put in his garden; and it grew and became a large tree, and the birds of the air nested in its branches.”” – Luke 13:19 NKJV 

Print

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Best Whole Wheat Bread Recipe

  1. Kathy says:

    I would be curious as to how it works in the solar oven. I believe it would.

  2. Pingback: White Bread Baked In The Sun Oven | My Food Storage Journey

Leave a Reply

