Garden Surprises!


If you aren’t growing any type of vegetable, fruit, or flowers… you really should. I can’t tell you the excitement it gives me when I make a tour through my garden and see something different. Especially when veggies start to flower and I know “food” is not far behind.

While I was making bread and bread mixes this morning, I caught a glimpse of yellow out of the corner of my eye coming from the garden… Could it be? I had to go check! And sure enough my cantaloupe had a blossom!!! (At least I think it’s a cantaloupe, I didn’t have shoes on and I didn’t want to walk on the bark to get close enough to read the label. Which makes me think that maybe I should create a garden plan file so I know what and where my veggies are planted.)

As I was walking on the pool deck back to the house, I noticed that I also had a white blossom on one of the pepper plants. But what’s this? What the heck are those white dots on the stock and stem? Click on the picture to the right to get a better view. Anyone have any idea what it is and how I can get rid of it? Please HELP, I want peppers and I don’t want them to be destroyed by some foreign “bug”!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ <>< ❤
“Therefore, as the fire devours the stubble, And the flame consumes the chaff, [So] their root will be as rottenness, And their blossom will ascend like dust; Because they have rejected the law of the LORD of hosts, And despised the word of the Holy One of Israel.”
Isaiah 5:24 NKJV

This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Garden Surprises!

  1. Mom says:

    Maybe white flies?

  2. Kendal says:

    Hi Tammi,
    It’s hard to see for sure, but it looks like whiteflies or aphids. In either case, you can easily treat the plants with a soft bodied insect spray made of vegetable oil, dish soap and water. To make a concentrate, mix 1 T. dishwashing liquid (Ivory, Joy, or Dr. Bronners) with 1 cup vegetable oil. You must use the cheap kind of dish detergent, not the super duper grease busting kind which will kill your plants. Shake up your concentrate, then mix 1-2 tsp of your concentrate with 1 cup tap water in a small spray bottle. Spray the plants thoroughly in the morning or late afternoon, especially on the undersides of the leaves. You will have to repeat this treatment once a week for 2-3 weeks to eliminate the problem, but it does work!

    • GrammyTammi says:

      Thank you for all the information Kendal… I’m definitely going to whip up some of the concentrate and give it a try. I’ll post the results in a few weeks. And thanks for reading my blog!

  3. Pingback: More information on our recent food storage purchases… | My Food Storage Journey

Leave a Reply

