White Bread Baked In The Sun Oven


In yesterday’s post about whole wheat bread, I said that I would also be making another batch of bread with the following changes:

  1. substitute butter powder for real butter
  2. substitute bread flour for whole wheat flour because I ran out of whole wheat
  3. let it rise a little longer the second time
  4. divide it in half for two smaller loaves
  5. bake it in the sun oven!

I did incorporate all those changes into my bread baking yesterday. And the result was great! The bread was still squishy and light and yummy! And it only took about 90 mins to bake in the Sun Oven. You may think that’s a long time, but when you consider it’s FREE and the house isn’t getting heated up, 90 minutes a wonderful trade-off.

I like the white bread, but after doing the wheat berries versus ground flour research yesterday, I’m anxious to use up all the bread flour so I can start using freshly milled hard white wheat flour. I don’t think I’ll ever buy any “flour” again especially if it’s bleached.

     

Now I just need to figure out who, at Bible study tonight,
is going to be blessed with fresh-baked bread!
Perhaps the Henderson family or Pastor Chuck and his wife Kim…

My lunch today included a tuna fish sandwich on the white bread. Last night, I put the bread in the fridge because I wanted it to last longer. But in the future I’ll just leave it covered on the counter instead, because I think the cold temperature changes the consistency a little and it seemed a little more dense today.

At this point, you’ll need to bare with me because I need to take a side trip down Tuna Lane and Tuna Sandwich Rd. Who knew there were so many different types of canned tuna? I’ve seen terms like chunk light, chunk white, solid white, Albacore, packed in oil, and packed in water on the cans. And I’m learning that all these terms “really” mean something when it comes to the quality of the tuna inside the can. I’m sure all my readers know the differences between these terms and I know from past experience that packed in water is better than packed in oil. But other than that, I never paid much attention to what “type” of tuna was in the can until I started watching the prices of things I buy. In the past I always bought the same Kirkland brand of tuna from Costco and never gave it a second thought.

Months ago Joel and I learned that chunk light tuna is not something we will ever buy again. We were trying to save some money and saw that the chunk light was a lot less than our normal pick. After opening one can, I realized we’d made a huge mistake. I don’t know about you, but chunk light doesn’t look appealing and it made a very wet and yucky tuna sandwich.  I didn’t want to eat the remaining cans and I couldn’t bare to throw them out, so we donated them to Calvary Downtown Outreach.

My next lesson was the difference between chunk white and solid white. I saw that Walgreens had a coupon for Chicken of the Sea chunk white tuna. I figured because it had “white” in the name that it would be “like” the tuna we buy at Costco… wrong!!! It was lighter in color than the chuck light, but it was still very wet even after using all my strength and my can strainer to drain it. So I guess I’ve learned that those Walgreens coupons or any sales for chunk white tuna can be ignored in the future.

The tuna we’ve been buying and will continue to buy  is the Kirkland (Costco) brand of solid white albacore. It may be a little more expensive, but we’ll save some money by stocking up when there is a coupon or it’s on sale. The next time I open a can, I’ll take a picture and add it to this post. I should be able to do this sometime next week because I’ll be testing my tuna casserole again. But this time I’ll be making it completely in the Sun Oven, including “boiling” the water and cooking the noodles!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ <><
“Then God said, “Let Us make man in Our image, according to Our likeness; let them have dominion over the fish of the sea, over the birds of the air, and over the cattle, over all the earth and over every creeping thing that creeps on the earth.””
Genesis 1:26 NKJV

This entry was posted in Food, Global Sun Oven and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to White Bread Baked In The Sun Oven

  1. Mom says:

    Hmmm….I should have mentioned that I had already done the exact same thing (regarding Tuna) and came to the same conclusion. The kirkland solid white albacore can’t be beat for texture and flavor. It’s the best!!

Leave a Reply

