Dinner & Dessert With Food Storage


These are the food storage items that I used for dinner last night to make Hamburger Pie:

  1. pressure canned ground beef/turkey (2 pints)
  2. commercially canned tomato soup (1)
  3. dehydrated green beans (1 cup + 2 cups boiling water)
  4. freeze-dried cauliflower (1 cup + 2 cups boiling water)
  5. dehydrated butter powder (1 tsp)
  6. instant non-fat powdered milk (2 tsp)
  7. salt & pepper to taste

To get started, I opened the jars of ground meat and added them to a frying pan, along with the can of tomato soup.

While the tomato/meat mixture warmed up, I opened the cans of vegetables.

I cooked the green beans and cauliflower. And as I told you before, the green beans looked a little weird, but they do look better once they are cooked. Now if you look at the cauliflower it looks really good. Now you see the difference between dehydrated and freeze-dried. The dehydrated looks a lot different from the original veggie, while the freeze-dried looks exactly like the original.

But I’ll tell you, if I had looked at the price on the can of freeze-dried cauliflower before I bought it, I don’t think I would have. It was VERY expensive and there wasn’t much of it in the can. After cooking it, it did taste just like freshly cooked cauliflower. But I can’t justify the price, even if it tastes good. (I wonder if I can find a recipe to pressure can cauliflower? Or could we dehydrate it and vacuum seal it in mason jars. Looks like I have some research to do.)

So, until I can come up with something at a better price, we’ll be going back to the original recipe of using mashed potatoes instead of mashed cauliflower for Hamburger Pie. Which means, in food storage language, potato flakes. 🙂

The green beans… I thought maybe I could just pour some boiling water over them from my kettle, cover them, wait awhile and they’d be cooked. Ah, not so much… they weren’t quite done so I put them in with the meat/tomato soup mixture to finish cooking.

Here’s what the finished product looked like when it was plated up and ready to eat!
And it was really good!

And before we could eat dinner,
I had to give hubby his first glass
of the chocolate Morning Moos.

And after dinner,
we had the orange jello
I made earlier in the day!

Here’s the picture of the orange jello in the mason jar that I made it in.
It looks so pretty. Can’t wait to add fruit to it next time!

And my first attempt (earlier in the day) at making whipped topping didn’t turn out so well because I didn’t use it immediately. So I made some more last night! And I used the electric beater this time instead of the Kitchen Plus. It turned out very good. But I will have to change the recipe to make less. I had to put the rest in the refrigerator. I checked it a few minutes ago, yuck… wouldn’t want to eat that runny, soupy mess. Oh well, that’s what this whole journey is all about… making the mistakes now, so I’ll be better prepared in an emergency or during TF-WROL.

I know this next picture has absolutely nothing at all to do with food storage or my journey, but I just couldn’t help and show you this Black & Lime photo. This is our dog Dakota on her brand new bean bag bed. She didn’t like the noise of the electric beater, so she went and hid in her kennel. Too sweet!

Well, that’s it for today… off to do real-world stuff… like laundry! See you tomorrow where I’ll be blogging about my adventures in yogurt making from Crystal’s yogurt making handout. It also includes instructions on making cream cheese and sour cream substitutes. There’s even a recipe for making cheesecake!!! Now we’re talking!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ <><
Immediately Saul fell full length on the ground, and was dreadfully afraid because of the words of Samuel. And there was no strength in him, for he had eaten no food all day or all night.” -1 Samuel 28:20 NKJV

This entry was posted in canned tomato soup, dehydrated green beans, Food, freeze-dried cauliflower, instant non-fat powdered milk, pressure canned beef. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dinner & Dessert With Food Storage

  1. debbie says:

    Hi Tam,
    Here’s a great way to use your whipped cream and fruit in the jello. I make an orange jello with mandarin oranges and cool whip so I believe you should be able to incorporate your whipped cream instead of the cool whip. Make the jello according to pkg directions. Let set a couple hours until it’s jiggly but not completely set up. Take out and use a whisk to whisk in the whipped cream. Incorporate that fully into the jello. Spray a bundt pan with Pam. Pour the jello mixture into the bundt pan. Sprinkle your mandarin oranges all over the jello mixture and if need be you can stir them in so they’re evenly distributed throughout. Put back in fridge overnight. Next day, soak very bottom of bundt pan in hot water. Take a plate and put it over the top of the pan and turn over to get jello out. I get LOTS of compliments on this jello mixture. Jeannine and Matthew always take it home with them every New Year’s Eve. How’s this for my first comment?

  2. Connie says:

    I tried dehyrating cauliflower (and broccoli) two years ago, and probably won’t do it again. They both turned brown and looked very unappetizing, so when I did finally use them up I buried them in soup. Took me a long time to get to that because I don’t generally use either of those things in soup. Now, it is possible I dehydrated them too long or at too high a temperature and maybe the pieces were too big. I MAY try it again with those thoughts in mind.

    I have dehydrated beans for three years now and am wondering if I should do so again. They’re strange and take a long time to rehydrate, so I generally put them into soups/stews. I’m thinking maybe they just HAVE to be blanched or even cooked first so if I do more this year, I’ll definitely keep that in mind. Peas and corn also takes a long time to rehydrate, so I’ve been boiling a pot of water several hours before dinner and then dropping the peas, beans or corn in there to rehydrate until time to cook. That works better, but they still don’t taste quite the same as fresh or frozen. I have purchased some freeze-dried veggies in cans and am really looking forward to seeing how they work (when there’s no more food from my garden or the store).

Leave a Reply

