Couponing


Today I felt like I should be on an episode of Extreme Couponing… LOL! Here is a picture of what I purchased for under $60.

My order included 16 boxes of Ronzoni/American Beauty pasta, 2 bottles of Kraft BBQ sauce, 4 jars of Vlasic dill pickle spears, 5 cans Campbell’s tomato soup, 5 bottles of Arrowhead drinking water, 3 packages of Kraft 2% cheddar cheese slices, 3 blocks of Kroger cheddar cheese, and 20 lbs of boneless, skinless chicken breast.

All of these items will be used to stock our food storage pantry. I’ll be canning the chicken tomorrow. I still haven’t decided if I’ll cut the breasts into chunks or into larger pieces. I’ll have to do some research tonight.

And here is the run down on the numbers:

    • Total cost = $122.23
    • Kroger savings = $49.82
    • MFG savings = $17.20
    • Total paid = $56.20
    • Savings percentage = 54%

The best part of this shopping trip was the coupons for the pasta. It was on sale for $0.49, and I had coupons that were $1.00 on 2. So I was paid $0.18 to take the pasta out of the store! That has never happened to me before. I’ve never been PAID to take a product out of the store… I wonder what I’ll be paid to take out of the store next?!?

So recently I was asked if I could give my resources for couponing here on my blog. I’m happy to do just that! Here they are:

The Krazy Coupon Lady (http://thekrazycouponlady.com/) is also on Facebook. This is where I get most of my information on store/coupon matching and where I find the latest coupons. She has written a book, I have not read it yet, but I love the title “Pick Another Checkout Lane, honey”… love it! She has several free organization tools that I use including the coupon binder inserts. I learned a lot by clicking the Beginners tab and reading through the information. And she has all the links to the coupon printing sites such as coupons.com and Smart Source. Don’t forget to use the back button after printing a coupon… you’re allowed to print two of each coupon. And if you have more than one computer in the house, you can print two from each computer. It took me a while to figure that out, so I thought I’d pass it along. Oh, and you’ll be prompted to install coupon printer software the first time. Don’t worry, it’s safe. But be aware of a couple of different sites that want to install coupon “toolbars” in your browser. I DON’T install those and I suggest you stay away from them too.

Frugal Coupon Living (http://www.frugalcouponliving.com/) is also on Facebook. Lots of good information and store/coupon matching here too. I’d suggest “liking” the Facebook page or subscribing to the email so you’ll know when a new coupon or deal is found. Again, I’d suggest reading the information for beginners (bottom of webpage under Couponing 101). Oh and I just found a great link on this website… click the Birthday tab at the top and register away! 🙂

Before shopping, I also visit all my favorite store websites (Walgreens, CVS, Smith’s) and double-check my coupons on hand with their weekly ads.

If this is something that interests my readers, I can continue to blog about great deals that I find and what I learn about couponing… let me know if this is something you’d be interested in reading in future posts…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~<><
Did you know that the word “food” occurs 212 times in 196 verses in the NKJV!

This entry was posted in Coupons, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Couponing

  1. Pingback: Inventory and Best Prices Worksheets | My Food Storage Journey

Leave a Reply

