Old Canning Jars


Recently we’ve been cleaning up, rearranging, and donating items that we no longer need. One big task was our garage. After cleaning it out and donating a van “full” of items to Savers, we picked up some more old canning jars.

There are a total of eight jars. Two are Ball mason jars, three are jelly (1/2 pint) jars and the three in the back are commercial pasta sauce jars (probably Classico). Which reminds me, I wanted to tell you that I’ve discovered that these pasta jars can be used for vacuum sealing!!! I’ve read online that some people will use these jars for pressure canning. There are two reasons why I won’t use them for that purpose. First, when I get mason jars from any other source other than brand new in the box from the store, I have no idea how they’ve been used or abused. Second, I haven’t been able to find enough information to prove to me that they won’t break in the pressure canner.

So all these wonderful jars will only be used to vacuum seal crackers, nuts, spices, seeds and anything and everything else I can find to put in them. I think they look so pretty all lined up on the shelves. In the picture on the left you’ll see that I used the large 1/2 gallon jars for crackers. They work so well for these kinds of things. I will be picking up another case of these soon. You can’t use them for pressure canning (except juice) because they are so large. But they are the perfect size for what’s leftover in a box of crackers once it’s opened. The  picture on the right shows how I’ve used them in my spice rack for poppy seeds, sesame seeds, oregano leaves, and basil. I’ve also used them to vacuum seal dried minced onion and kosher salt.

And if you noticed, in the pictures above, that some of the jars had white lids, those are Tattler lids. (I first wrote about them here.) Maybe I should have been a scientist because I always want to test things. Most of my tests don’t work, but this one did! I used a wide mouth jar, a Tattler rubber ring and plastic lid with the wide mouth jar attachment and my Food Saver… I was so excited when I tried to lift off the white lid and it didn’t budge!!! The only item that I had a bit of a problem with was baking soda. I think there was some residue on the rim of the jar that kept it from sealing. I’m going to go back and clean the rubber ring and jar rim and try again. But all the other jars are still sealed today, which is a few days from when I originally sealed them.

You may be asking why I didn’t use the Tattler lids for pressure canning. Well, when I went to use them, I noticed that they all had little nicks in the edges of the white lids. I’m still waiting to hear back from the company on whether or not they are safe to use for pressure canning. I know, I know, I know, I should have called them immediately and demanded replacements (my husband would have done that and he gets upset when I don’t). But it’s been weeks if not months, since I bought them, and I’m just plain bad at getting my money back (or replacements) for things that I buy. 😦 And since I did find another use for them, I’m satisfied. But if I do order more, and they come the same way, I will definitely call the company immediately!!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~<><
And as far as the recent news that tomorrow, May 21st, is the beginning of the end of the world, the Bible states in Matthew 24:36 (NKJV) the following: “But of that day and hour no one knows, not even the angels of heaven, but My Father only.” So we know WITHOUT A DOUBT, that tomorrow will not be the end of the world.

This entry was posted in Equipment, Food Saver, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

