Pressure Canning London Broil


The Albertson’s in our town was having a sale on London Broil. I haven’t seen it this low in a long time, it was $2.77/lb! I bought three packages along with some other grocery items. I had a coupon for most of the items, but I still didn’t save as much as I would have liked.

The total bill before savings/coupons was $149.13 and after savings/coupons I paid $70.22 cash. If my math is right that’s almost a 53% savings. So I guess it was pretty good after all, heck I spent less that I saved. Okay, I’ll count this as a good shopping trip. If you click on the pictures you can see exactly what I bought. And yes, I now have s’mores fixings for camping this summer.. woohoo!

When I got home I put all the groceries away (I went to Smith’s that day too). I processed the meat two days later. In the picture to the right, you’ll see my setup for preparing the meat. I have a cutting board and a sharp knife. You’ll  also noticed that I’ve already taken the meat out of the packages and put them into a bowl. This makes things go a little faster and I’m not washing my hands a bunch of times unwrapping meat. Behind the cutting board is another bowl and that’s where I put the cut pieces. 

When I was done, I had one bowl with chunks and one bowl with strips of London Broil. Between the two bowls you’ll see a tall container with a shopping bag. I use that for all the parts I cut off of the meat including fat. I call this my “garbage bowl” and it’s actually always on my counter. Saves me from dripping across the kitchen to the garbage can. Of course I stole this idea from Rachel Ray (a cook on the Food Network channel).

When I filled the pint jars, I ended up with 10 jars total. Three had strips that I’ll use for beef stroganoff and the remaining seven had chunks for stews and soups. I added a beef bullion cube to each jar. And, I have no idea why, but I added boiling water to the jars too. DO NOT DO THIS! I don’t know what I was thinking when I did that. I think maybe I was concerned about air bubbles and thought if I added the liquid I could get rid of them. Actually the only air bubbles you need to worry about are those that can get stuck between the meat and the surface of the jar. If you use a bubble remover you’ll be fine. I did use a bubble remover too.

I’m curious to open one of the jars to see if everything turned out okay. There was a lot of liquid in the jars when I was done processing them. In fact one of them I tilted a little too much when I took it out of the canner and liquid started bubbling out of the jar. I’m thinking that because it wasn’t sealed yet, that it will be okay. I did hear the jars “ping” when they sealed a few minutes later. And I do know that it was one of the jars of “strips” that had the issue, so I’ll open those first. I processed these on the 21st of May and I’m not sure when I’ll be able to work them into the meal planning. I will definitely let you know how they turn out.

><>~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~<><
“He shall remove all its fat, as the fat of the lamb is removed from the sacrifice…”
– Leviticus 4:35 NKJV

This entry was posted in Coupons, Food, pressure canned beef, Presto Pressure Canner and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pressure Canning London Broil

  1. Vicki says:

    I have never eaten London Broil. Not even sure that it is a common cut of meat here in central Missouri. How would you fix it after it is canned? Let us know how it turns out!

  2. Pingback: First “Off-Grid” Meal | My Food Storage Journey

  3. Lynn says:

    Love london broil — going to get some right now as it’s on sale here this weekend for $2.77/lb. I’t a great go-to meat out of the jars for chilis, quesadilla, soups or anything else that you might want to add a lean cut of beef to. Not canned, it’s probably one of my favorite cuts of beef for using in crockpot recipes, as it is a bit tough for me unless it’s cooked long and slow, or pressure cooked.

  4. Lynn Young says:

    I have been pressure canning meat for years. I just bought some London broil on sale and will be canning that for the first time. Usually I use cut up English Roast (removing as much fat as possible), but this year I decided to try some other cuts of beef. I thought steak would not work, but I’m reading online that it is one of the best to use. I raw pack without any liquid or beef cubes. The liquid from the meat then fills the jar during the canning process. I skim off the fat when I open the jar. The meat is fantastic. I use it in beef & noodles, beef & gravy over mashed potatoes, stroganof, and beef soup. A friend of mine said she pours the contents of the jar in a pan, adds sliced onions and cooks it until it is warm. Her family loves it. One pointer, I always keep my canned food upstairs where I can keep an eye on it for a few days. I make sure the seal is good that way. I continue to check the jars after they are put away in the basement. Never hurts to be safe when it comes to canned food.

Leave a Reply

