Recipe – Mac & Cheese (from a box)


A few nights ago I decided it was time to experiment with the Mac N Cheese again from food storage. I wanted to make BLTs and Mac & Cheese for dinner. The first time I made it, I used it for Tuna Casserole and I used too much butter powder and I think I over cooked the noodles. When I made it this time, I forgot about using the hot water from the electric kettle, but at least I know I can do it that way if I have too. Here is the final recipe that I’ve worked out for Mac & Cheese from a box. It was really yummy and you’d never guess it wasn’t made with fresh butter or milk. (Eventually I’ll stop buying the boxes of Mac & Cheese and just the elbow macaroni and cheese blend in #10 cans. When I do, I’ll create a new post with those ingredients and directions.)

Ingredients:

1 box Mac n Cheese
1 tablespoon butter powder
1 tablespoon instant non-fat powdered milk
4 cups hot kettle water for cooking macaroni (reserve 1/4 cup of this cooking water before draining cooked macaroni).

Directions:

  1. Begin heating water in electric kettle (or heat water with another off-grid method).
  2. Open box and remove cheese packet and set aside.
  3. Pour elbow macaroni into a pot (or casserole) and cover with 4 cups of boiling water from kettle.
  4. Cover with lid and a thick towel and let stand for 10 minutes. Check to see if macaroni is done. If not, continue checking every 1 minute until done.
  5. Remove 1/4 cup of water from pot (or casserole) and drain remaining water. (Tip: Don’t throw the water down the drain. Cool it and use to water plants.)
  6. Add powdered cheese mix, butter powder, and powdered milk to pot (or casserole) with the drained noodles and 1/4 cup of reserved cooking water.
  7. Stir to combine all ingredients.

Updated: 06/04/2011

This entry was posted in Equipment, instant non-fat powdered milk, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Recipe – Mac & Cheese (from a box)

  1. lola says:

    Hey, I was searching for a good FS Mac and Cheese recipe as well. Unfortunately nobody seemed to have one. I finally came up with my version and thought I would share it with you.
    I figured out, like you, how to make it w/dry milk and butter and a box …..but couldn’t turn that into macaroni pasta, cheese blend powder and something edible! I finally did it and since I couldn’t find anybody to help me with my recipe, thought I would share so that any others who are also looking can find the help they need.

    http://cookslittlekitchen.blogspot.com/2011/08/macaroni-with-cheese-sauce.html

    The only thing I ask is that if you ever post this recipe on your blog, is to please credit my blog. Other than that, feel free to use, change, manipulate, re-post, and enjoy any of my recipe’s that you like.

    Sincerely,
    Lola
    A fellow food storage traveler.

Leave a Reply

