Sun Oven Cooking, Chili Cheese Dogs


Yesterday I made chili cheese dogs and coleslaw for dinner. The chili and hot dogs were cooked completely in the Sun Oven. It was so nice to have a piping hot meal ready when Joel came home that we could enjoy in a house that hadn’t been heated up from cooking!

 Here’s what I used: a pint mason jar and lid for chili, a quart mason jar and water for hotdogs, and a dark towel to cover the mason jars in the oven.

If you do this, it’s easier to put the hotdogs into the quart jar first, then add the water. 

I adjusted the oven so the shadow was a little bit off-center because I wanted to slow cook the meal and keep it warm until Joel got home from work.

I put the pint jar of chili and quart jar of hot dogs into the oven and covered with a dark towel. I know the towel isn’t really that dark, but it’s the darkest one I could find. I guess I’ll have to crochet some dark towels and dark socks to use in my oven.

 The temperature inside the oven was about 330 degrees. It would have been higher if I’d completely centered the shadows. I wanted to slow cook so this was a good temperature.

I started dinner at 2:33 PM….

…at 5:30 PM when Joel arrived home from work,
the hotdogs were cooked and over 180 degrees…

 … and the chili was still piping hot too!

 Oh, and I also warmed up the hot dog buns in the oven too!
Don’t leave them more than five minutes or they’ll be way too dry.

LET'S EAT!

><>~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~<><
“Now Simon Peter stood and warmed himself. Therefore they said to him, “You are not also one of His disciples, are you?” He denied it and said, “I am not!”” – John 18:25 NKJV

This entry was posted in Food, Global Sun Oven, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sun Oven Cooking, Chili Cheese Dogs

  1. Vicki says:

    Hi Tamara! I really appreciate the posts of your experiences with the sun oven. I am still interested in one, just wondering with all the over cast days how much use I’d get. Please post some more on the rocket stove, too. It seems that it would be more reliable for cooking if the grid goes down…Thanks again for sharing your journey!
    Vicki

    • GrammyTammi says:

      Hi Vicki! Sorry it’s taken me so long to get back to you on this comment. I plan on doing some more posts on the Stove Tek as soon as I get some “insta-fire”. I saw a video on it and think it will be better for me than newspaper. We’ve been getting really bad winds here and it’s just too risky to use newspaper in it until the winds go away. I also have another stove that uses propane (Volcano stove). And I’ll be doing some testing with it too! Thanks for reading and your suggestions! Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

