Shopping, Walgreens & CVS & Smiths, 06/23/11


Since my right shoulder is still having issues, hubby took me shopping again last night. He was such a life saver pushing the cart and loading/unloading the car. He was so patient with me while I took pictures of all the items. Thank you honey!

I wanted to go to another Walgreens to see if I could get the jello, because 19 cents a box is too big a deal to pass up. I had heard that they restock the shelves on Thursdays, and since it was Thursday I was pleasantly surprised to find the items I wanted in stock. Woohoo!

Here is a list of items purchased from Walgreens, including the final price I paid for each item after coupons, sales and register rewards:

  • (4) 15 oz cans of Hormel corned beef, $1.99 ea on sale
  • (4) 11 oz cans of mandarin oranges, $0.50 ea (SCORE!)
  • (6) 1.41 oz boxes of Royal orange jello, $0.19 ea (SCORED again!)
  • (4) 2.77 oz Arrid deodorant, $0.99 ea

TOTAL including tax: $30.23
WAGS coupons savings: $11.56
WAGS advertised savings: $4.69
TOTAL spent: $13.39
SAVINGS percentage: 55.7%

Next we headed over to CVS. We actually shopped at two different locations because the ice teas I wanted to get for hubby’s lunches weren’t at the first one.

Here is a list of items purchased from CVS, including the final price I paid for each item after coupons, sales and register rewards:

  • (4) 20 oz bottles of Lipton Ice Tea, $.37 ea
  • (2) 16 oz bottles of Kraft salad dressing, $1.50 ea
  • (2) 15 oz bottles of SoftSoap body wash, $2.24 ea
  • (1) gallon jug of fat free milk, $2.59 ea
  • (5) 32 oz bottles of lemon lime Gatorade, $1.00 ea
  • (2) 13 oz bottles of Garnier shampoo, $1.50 ea
  • (5) 12 pack cans of soda, $2.60 ea
  • (2) 30 oz jars of Kraft mayonnaise, $1.63 ea
  • (1) 12 oz bottle of Dep styling gel, $0.99 ea
  • (2) 42 count packages of Cotonelle wipes, $0.99 ea
  • (1) 18 oz bottle of Irish Spring body wash, $0.99 ea
  • (2) 4 oz tubes of Colgate toothpaste, -$.08 ea (SCORE!)
  • (2) 8.75 oz bags of Chex Mix, $0.99 ea

TOTAL including tax: $114.21
MFG coupon savings: $9.84
CVS coupon savings: $8.00
CVS advertised savings: $48.59
TOTAL spent: $65.62
SAVINGS percentage: 42.5%

Our final trip was to our local Smith’s grocery store. I only needed to pick up a few things, but then we saw the sale on bottle drinks and pudding cups!!

Here is a list of items purchased from Smith’s, including the final price I paid for each item after sales and coupons:

  • (10) four packs of Hunts snack pack puddings, $1.00 ea
  • (20) bottles of assorted drinks, $1.00 ea
  • (1) 1.71 pound bag of peaches, $2.57 ea
  • (1) gallon jug of fat free milk, $2.59 ea
  • (1) bottle of vodka, $9.99 ea
    (We don’t drink it, we use it to make vanilla extract for baking. Watch this video on how it’s done!)
  • (4) packages of smoked sausage, $3.00 ea
    (I remember when these were $1.50 ea on sale, now this is the cheapest I can get them.)
  • (1) 12 pack of wide mouth pint jars, $10.69 ea
    (This is the second time that these have rung up higher than the sale price sign!!! The sale sign below the jars was $9.64, and I had a $1 off coupon, so I was hoping to get them for $8.64 ea.)
  • (1) 12 pack of wide mouth jar lids, $2.99 ea
    (And here again! The sale sign said $2.49… argh!)
  • (4) packages of chuck roast, $2.49 per pound
  • (2) 42 count packages of Cotonelle wipes, $0.99 ea
  • (1) 18 oz bottle of Irish Spring body wash, $0.99 ea
  • (2) 4 oz tubes of Colgate toothpaste, -$.08 ea (SCORE!)
  • (2) 8.75 oz bags of Chex Mix, $0.99 ea
  • (3) cans of grilling beans, $ 1.48 ea
    (Well, it would have been this price if the .55 cent coupon had gone through. Not sure what happened here. I really need to start watching the prices and coupons as they are getting rung up.)
  • (3) eight ounce packages of bar cheese, $1.48 ea
  • (1) package Smart Balance spread, $2.78 ea
    (I had a coupon at home for at home…drats!)

TOTAL including tax: $125.60
MFG coupon savings: $1.55
Smith’s advertised savings: $31.57
TOTAL spent: $92.48
SAVINGS percentage: 26.4%

So now that all the items are put away, I can start thinking about vacuum sealing the cheese and chuck roast for later use. One of the chuck roasts I’ll be using for dinner tonight to make Katzcradul’s Legendary Chuck Roast. It looked so yummy when I watched her video. I’ll be making rice to go with it and then probably some canned green beans. I’ll blog about it later.

<><~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~><>
“So Abraham rose early in the morning, and took bread and a skin of water; and putting it on her shoulder, he gave it and the boy to Hagar, and sent her away. Then she departed and wandered in the Wilderness of Beersheba.” – Genesis 21:14 NKJV

This entry was posted in Shopping and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shopping, Walgreens & CVS & Smiths, 06/23/11

  1. Pingback: Katzcradul Legendary Chuck Roast | My Food Storage Journey

  2. Romasanta says:

    Wow, this article is nice, my sister is analyzing these kinds of things, therefore I am going to tell her.|

Leave a Reply

