Katzcradul Legendary Chuck Roast


She did it again! Katzcradul posted another video and I just had to try it out. In the new video she shows us how to make a delicious chuck roast with a really nice smooth gravy. I love to cook and anyone who has been to my house for dinner knows I’m a pretty good cook… EXCEPT… when it comes to gravy! LOL! I always have to have someone else, like my niece Stephani or her mom Tina, make the gravy.

So after watching Katzcradul’s video on how to make her legendary pot roast, I discovered that our local grocery store was having a sale on chuck roast for $2.49/lb. So I picked up four, one I’ll use to make a pot roast now. The other three I will vacuum seal and put in the freezer for later.

Here is a picture of the ingredients… for a complete list and amounts, head on over to YouTube and watch her video. I did add a little extra of the worchestire sauce and the garlic powder because I really like those flavors.

I cooked each side for about 5 minutes to get a nice seer on the roast.

Then I made the gravy and I was so happy to discover that I had the very same whisk that she uses and talks about in the video. It’s starting to look so yummy and I’m so proud of myself for getting this far without messing it up!

This is what it looked like when it was ready to go into the GSO. It’s making me hungry just looking at it… and I have some left in the fridge that I know I’ll be eating for lunch as soon as I get done with this post!!!

I put it in the GSO at 1:48 pm. I decided to “slow cook” it because hubby wouldn’t be home until 6 pm, so I positioned the oven East of center and just let it cook the rest of the day.

Sorry this picture is so dark. I think I forgot to turn on the flash.

When hubby arrived home, I took the pan out of the GSO, removed the lid and stuck a thermometer in it to see the temperature. It was 170 degrees so it was throughly cooked and ready. Time to plate and eat.

I plated the roast up with some rice and gravy. I added some shrimp and homemade cocktail sauce that I made from ketchup, horseradish, hot sauce and some other ingredients that I don’t remember at the moment. I also made a second side dish from a can of corn and dehydrated bell peppers from food storage. The dinner was so very very yummy. Even hubby said, “I don’t like pot roast, but you can definitely make this again!” And I certainly will make it again. I’m going to add this to my regular menu to have about once a month.

Okay, now the gravy results… well, it was not as thick as Katzcradul… but I think it’s because when I added the last amount of water, I added too much. I also think that it might have something to do with the “moist” cooking chamber of the GSO. Next time I’ll add less water, or maybe none at all and see what happens. But all was not lost, since I had a good base, I just let it simmer on the stove for a while and it thickened right up!

Now I’m off to warm up the last piece to have for lunch… thanks again Katzcradul!!!

<><~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~<><
“Now Jacob cooked a stew; and Esau came in from the field, and he was weary.” – Genesis 25:29 NKJV

This entry was posted in dehydrated bell peppers, Global Sun Oven and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Katzcradul Legendary Chuck Roast

  1. katzcradul says:

    I’m so glad you directed me to your blog. I’m signing-up. Delighted that the roast come out good. You’re right, you always have to reduce the amount of water when cooking in a sun oven. But you knew how to take care of it…just reduce the gravy on the stove. Good thinking. Thanks for your kind remarks. Take care.

    • GrammyTammi says:

      Oh thank you for signing up for my blog Katzcradul. I’m getting a lot of help/advice/ideas from you and the rest of the YouTube community. And I think you’ll enjoy seeing how my six-month food experiment turns out. I’m having so much fun learning all these new things, becoming more self-reliant, and making my hubbies dollars go farther! I really look forward to any advice you can give me and my readers.

Leave a Reply

