Solar Oven Cooking Idea


How many of you are like me and bought the TupperWave Stack Cooker from Tupperware and never used it? Mine has been in the cupboard for so many years, I’ve forgotten when I bought it. A few months ago I saw the cookset in my cupboard, way on the top shelf and thought to myself, “I wonder if I could use that in the Global Sun Oven (GSO) as a way to cook more than one thing at a time?”

I pulled it down and discovered that the set I bought had come with two casseroles, a lid/casserole, a cone, two plastic storage lids and a cookbook. As I was looking through the cookbook, I realized why I never used it in the microwave…because I didn’t like any of the recipes and couldn’t figure out how to come up with my own. At first I was hesitant to put the casserole into the GSO because I was afraid it would melt. But then I thought about how hot foods are when they come out of the microwave. What the heck… I’ll give it a try. But I was still worried that the heat from the metal leveling tray would melt the bottom of the casserole, so I decided to put a hot pad between the tray and the casserole.

Now, I had to decide what to cook. Oh, how about my old standby…monkey bread with Pillsbury Grands biscuits. (Sheez, I really do need to spend some time learning how to make my own homemade biscuits.) I gathered all the ingredients and plopped them into the bottom casserole. Then I put a hot pad and the casserole into the GSO on the leveling tray. I also made sure that none of the sides of the casserole touched the tray. I held my breath while I watched and waited to see if the casserole would start to melt… or catch fire… or explode… or ??? My mind was thinking of every possible thing that could go wrong.

BUT (drum roll inserted here)

Woohoo! It worked! The bread cooked, the casserole didn’t melt, catch fire or explode. And I didn’t smell any strange gasses when I opened the lid of the GSO. I was so thrilled and my mind immediately started racing thinking about menu ideas.

Now, lets take a closer look to see if I need to do anything different next time. I noticed that the top of the bread did get a bit dry, so I think I’ll make sure to use the lid next time. Also the center of the bottom didn’t get as “brown” as the rest of the bottom. I think that’s because the hot pad prevented the heat from “really” cooking that area of the bread.

DISCLAIMER HERE: I’m not a scientist or a chemist so I’m not sure how safe it is to use the Tupperwave cookset in the GSO. Please do your own reasearch! If you do find out any information that will be helpful for my readers, please post in the comments below. 🙂 Okay, so now that the disclaimer is out of the way… I wanted to let you know that I did do another test a few days later without the hot pad and NOTHING melted!

I think this cookset will really solve my problem of cooking multiple things at the same time. Since there are potentially three chambers (two stacking casseroles and a stacking lids/casserole), I’ll be able to cook more than a one pot meal. I’m thinking I can use the cookbook as a guide for placement of meat, veggies, potatoes/rice and dessert. I’m so happy I never got rid of this cookset.

I’ll keep you informed of the recipes/dishes that I create using this cookset. And please remember, do your own research before attempting. I think I’ll write a letter to the owner of the GSO and see if he has any concerns about this idea of mine.

(Update on my shoulder: I’m feeling a little better today, but I’m impatient and I want to be fully recovered NOW! I guess the good Lord is teaching me patience. I hope you will be patient with me if I skip a day or two without a post. 🙂

><>~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~<><
“So the last will be first, and the first last. For many are called, but few chosen.”
Matthew 20:16 NKJV

This entry was posted in Equipment, Global Sun Oven, Recipes, TupperWave Cookset and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Solar Oven Cooking Idea

  1. Mom says:

    I have one of those sets! Do you wan’t it? The only thing wrong with it is that your dad used one of the casseroles to warm up frozen vegetables (in the plastic bag). The plastic bag melted and the melted bag caused the casserole to melt also. It’s only a one inch diameter circle in th bottom of the dish. I’ve used the dish again with no problems. Of course, like you I don’t know the scientific answer, but I’d bet that Tupperware knows the answer. Try calling them. Shall I ship this set to you?

  2. Pingback: Microwavable Cookware in Solar Oven | My Food Storage Journey

  3. I realize this is an old post, but I found this searching Google to see if I could cook my monkey bread in my Stack Cooker. I use my cooker with the cone insert to “bake” cakes quite often. I prepare the cake mix according to the directions on the box, spray all of the inner surfaces (including the cone) with butter flavored Pam, pour in the batter and cook on high for 8-9 minutes. I might have to add an extra minute or two if the cake hasn’t pulled away from the sides. With some cakes I will poke holes all around with a straw, then microwave the frosting in its container for 45 seconds then pour it all over the cake after I remove it. With lemon cake and frosting, I leave the cake in the cooker then pour the frosting in and leave it to cool for several hours. After it’s cool I’ll pop out the cone and transfer it to my cake plate. The frosting looks like a crystallized type of glaze and it is shiny and very pretty. I’ve also used the cooker with the lid to steam whole potatoes. I rinse them with water and microwave for 10 minutes or so, depending on how many I’ve got. I’ve eaten them whole and used them to make creamed potatoes. The peel was easy to remove after cooking, and they weren’t waxy. As you can tell, I’m a Tupperware fanatic. My only negative experience with it was when I attempted to use an angel food cake mix. It was like I put a giant marshmallow in there to cook. Haha!

Leave a Reply

