Pudding & Jello


The past few weeks I’ve been feeling a little bit better. I think I’m feeling well enough to start posting again on a more regular basis. I’m still fighting with the frozen shoulder issues, but I’ll work through them.

Today I decided to make some room in my cupboard by taking all the pudding and gelatin mixes from their little boxes and vacuum seal them in quart sized mason jars.

Since there are only two of us in the house, these large boxes of mix make too much pudding for us to finish. We usually get bored before we can finish the entire bowl. So I decided to figure out how much mix and milk we’d need for just half a box. After using a digital scale and a few different measuring cups and spoons, I came up with 1/3 cup + 1 tbsp mix for 1-1/2 cups cold milk. I made a bowl of chocolate fudge and a bowl of vanilla using these measurements and I just tried a spoonful of each… PERFECT! So I wrote these measurements on the lids so I won’t forget the next time I want to make pudding. And if hubby wants some pudding (his favorite is the chocolate fudge) he’ll be able to make some for himself by reading the lids.

Now, if you have more members in your family, you’ll want to use the whole box. You can either measure out 2/3 cup + 2 tbsp mix or you can use a digital scale and measure out 6 oz… or whatever the box size is that you used to fill your mason jars. Just remember to either tape the directions to the front or write them on the lid. (After these jars are empty, I’m going to try to make pudding with Magic Mix.)

After vacuum sealing the pudding, I figured I might as well do the same with the gelatin packages.

 

I did figure out the measurements for these (orange and strawberry) and wrote them on the lids too, but since I already have two desserts in the fridge, I decided to wait to test these until next week. (Oh and while I was out sick, I did do some shopping for food storage. One of the items I picked up was gelatin in #10 cans from Honeyville Farms. I purchased the lime, cherry and orange. Hubby later informed me that his favorite is raspberry. I’ll try to get that next month if they are still on clearance.)

When these two jars of gelatin are empty, I’ll fill them up again with the #10 can gelatin. I’ll also have to see if the measurements will be different. Both of these were different brands and different size boxes… and the measurements came out differently as well.

Before my arm/shoulder started hurting too badly, I was able to get some avocado into the freezer. Recently I watched a video by Katzcradul on how to freeze avocado, so when I saw the bags of avocado at Costco, I just had to pick one up. In her video she uses a fruit fresh product and I do have that in my cupboard, but it’s unopened. So I decided to try using some lemon juice. I cut up 5 avocados and used 1/8 of a cup of bottled lemon juice.

I ended up with six snack sized bags of wonderfully fresh looking avocado. I think the snack sized bags will be perfect portions for hubby and I. If we have guests, I can always use 2 or 3 bags. It was amazingly easy to process the avocado like Katzcradul shows in her video. I do have one tip: I placed my snack bags into a coffee cup and folded the zippy part over to the outside. This made it easier to fill the bags without getting avocado all over the zippy part. These little beauties are now in the freezer and I’ll put them in a large freezer bag tomorrow. And now I will have avocado whenever I want it and won’t suffer from avocado fatigue when I buy them in bulk.

Thinking about avocados makes me remember the most delicious avocado pie that my mom made for us once when we were in Hawaii. I wonder if she’ll be kind enough to share the recipe with us in the comments area. I bet if we ask really nicely, she’d do it for us! Oh and if you think avocado pie sounds horrible… well at you must give it a try. I was skeptical too when she first made it, but then we devoured the pie! And yes, it is sweet!

A couple of note before I close this blog post. I have been taken pictures of little things I was doing while I was away from my blog. And hopefully in the weeks to come I’ll be able to share them with you, especially the ones I took while at SIL’s house. I wasn’t much help, but we did get quite a few things done. Also, we’ll be starting our challenges again beginning in 2012!

<><~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~<><
But before I had finished speaking in my heart, there was Rebekah,
coming out with her pitcher on her shoulder;
and she went down to the well and drew water.
And I said to her, “Please let me drink.”
Gen 24:45 NKJV

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Pudding & Jello

  1. SIL says:

    I missed your blogs, so happy to see you’re back.

    • GrammyTammi says:

      Thanks! I’m happy to be blogging again too. We’ll start up the challenges again in January after the holidays. So start compiling your list and try not to do to many things before then… LOL! But if you do something interesting, take pics and I’ll post them on the blog.

  2. Mrs C says:

    Avacado Pie sounds exciting….I hope you post that one soon! I love the idea of freezing it so that I can have it when I want, buy cheap and in season and save for later. 🙂

    • GrammyTammi says:

      Hi Mrs. C,

      Mom posted the recipe for the avocado pie as a comment to the original post. Just wanted to make sure that you saw it.

      GT <

      • GG Bev says:

        I’m not certain about freezing the Avocado pie. I haven’t tried that yet. It might come out runny when thawed. I fanyone tries it let me know how that works out.

  3. GG Bev says:

    I can’t remember who first gave me this recipe, but I am still grateful: 🙂 GG Bev

    Avocado Pie Recipe:

    2 Avocadoes
    1/2 cup lime juice (I think you could use lemon juice as a substitute)
    1 can sweetened condensed milk (5 oz. can)
    1 prepared graham cracker crust (9 inch)
    Whipped topping (optional)

    Scoop out avocado. Discard peel and seed (this instruction is only for the seriously challenged individual)
    Blend all ingredients until smooth
    Pour into pie crust
    Refrigerate for at least 2 hours
    Add whipped topping if desired

Leave a Reply

