Turkey Stock and Tamales


I didn’t make a turkey dinner for Thanksgiving or Christmas this year. Instead I made it on New Year’s while my niece and her family were visiting. It wasn’t a big turkey, but I saved the carcus, legs, wings and leftover meat to make a stock. Besides wanting to make my own stock, I wanted to use the meat from the bones to make tamales.

I don’t really have a recipe for the stock, I just used my largest stock pot. I filled it with water and added the turkey bones, veggies (celery, carrot and onion), some spices, salt and garlic. I brought it to a boil and then turned it back to a simmer for about two hours. Then I pulled all the goodies from the pot by running the stock through a strainer lined with a coffee filter. I further reduced the stock by simmering it for another two hours. I did have to skim the “junk” off the top quite a few times. And I’ll strain it through a coffee filter one more time before I put it into jars to pressure can it. I think I’ll be doing that later today.

It always amazes me how much meat is rendered from the bones/wings/legs after boiling them! I can’t believe I used to throw all this meat in the trash. This time I was able to get a bunch of tamales, and I still have enough to make some quesadillas and sandwiches out of it. That’s three meals for hubby and I. And I’m sure I could have stretched it even farther if I’d made a soup with it too!

About the tamales… I’ve been trying a recipe that I found on a YouTube video, but I’m not very happy with it, so I’m in search of a new recipe. The recipe I’ve been using, just doesn’t seem to have enough flavor for me. So today I’ll be surfing the internet in search of a better recipe. If you have a good recipe, please let us know!

On a side note… as I was looking at the pictures on my camera (and my phone), I realized I’ve been doing quite a few things that I haven’t blogged about. I need to start making my blogging more of a priority now that I’m feeling so much better. And yes, I am feeling SO much better. I don’t have pain on a daily basis or at night anymore! I still don’t have full range of motion with my right arm, but I am finding I can do more and more things everyday! Thank you Jesus for answered prayers!

… so I guess this means you’ll be hearing a lot more from me in the future… 🙂

<><~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~><>
Heap on the wood,
Kindle the fire;
Cook the meat well,
Mix in the spices,
And let the cuts be burned up.
 Ezekiel 24:10 (NKJV)

This entry was posted in Misc, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Turkey Stock and Tamales

  1. GG Bev says:

    I’ll check with Grandpa’s neighbors; the Madrigals. I bet they have a great recipe. They’re staying here at Lopaka’s Family Lodge for a week. I’ll ask them as soon as they return from the Farmer’s market.

  2. Mrs C says:

    Glad you are doing better! I can’t wait to see what your ‘secret’ projects have been that we havn’t seen yet!

Leave a Reply

