Birthday Sourdough Waffles


Yes! Today is my birthday!

I got up early this morning and made sourdough waffles and turkey bacon for me and my dear sweet hubby! Before I tell you about the waffles, let me tell you about the wonderful birthday gifts that my hubby bought me… did I mention yet that he is dear and oh so sweet! 🙂 He surprised me this past weekend with a brand new KitchenAid (and a wheat grinder attachment has been ordered and is on its way!)

On Sunday, hubby left the house to run an errand and returned with this box!!! He bought a KitchenAid Pro that’s currently on sale at Costco. It was normally $299 but they currently have an instant rebate for $50, so that brought it down to $249. Then he spied a mail-in rebate form for another $30 cash back, which makes the total $210!!!

These two pictures show the size differences in the old (white) and new (grey) machines and the whisk/hook/paddle attachments. I’m really enjoying the larger size and design of the new dough hook. The old white one is a 275 watt, 4.5 quart machine that we received as a wedding gift over 11 years ago. The new gray one is 575 watt, 5.5 quart machine and is made with an all steel gear transmission! Woohoo! Sounds like a new sports car… LOL!

And your going to be wowed by this next part of the story! I was telling hubby that I wanted a second bowl so I can make bread in one and still have a bowl to make a cake or cookies while the bread rises in the first bowl. Well, two days ago I was at a friend’s house teaching her and her homeschooled kids how to make bagels.  When I got there, we discovered that the hook she wanted to use for her machine wasn’t the right one. She told me she had some parts for an old machine in the garage. When she brought them in I saw that she had an extra 6 quart bowl that would fit my machine… can you believe this… she just handed it to me and said I could have it!!!! I love how God works and uses people to bless others with wonderful gifts!!! (I will definitely be passing on the blessing to someone in my family, but I can’t talk about that now. But I will later 🙂

So, I’ve been using my new machine almost everyday since I got it. The first day I used it to made the best whole wheat bread! And I’ll tell you the type of machine you use really makes a difference. The bread was the lightest most fluffy whole wheat bread I’ve ever made! Then I made French bread yesterday and this morning I made pizza dough for dinner tonight. And I don’t have to worry about halving the recipes anymore, the larger sized bowl accommodates all my current bread recipes.

Okay, it looks like I should have named this post “My New KitchenAid” instead of “Birthday Sourdough Waffles”… LOL! But it’s my birthday so I’ll give myself a pass this time and now I’ll tell you about the sourdough waffles. I used a recipe on the Breadtopia website and they were fantastic!!! The first ones were a bit dry and crunchy (sowwy honey), but then I didn’t cook the others so long and they were nice and fluffy! We ate some and the rest are in the freezer as toaster waffles! I’ll definitely be making these again.

Now I’m off to run some errands and I’ll be back this afternoon to use my KitchenAid again to make chocolate cupcakes with cream cheese frosting for my birthday!!! I hope y’all have a fantastic day today!

><>~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~<><
Then an opportune day came when Herod
on his birthday gave a feast for his nobles,
the high officers, and the chief men of Galilee.
Mark 6:21 (NKJV)

This entry was posted in Food, KitchenAid Stand Mixer, sourdough and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

