Honeyville Tomato Powder Review


Sorry, this post is actually a day late.
I thought I had posted it yesterday, but there must have been a hiccup.
It was still in my draft folder this morning.

Pizza sauce needs tomato paste… I don’t stock my pantry with tomato paste… BUT… I do have tomato powder… AND it’s time to open it up and use it because I need to make pizza sauce.

On a trip to CA in October, I purchased a can of tomato powder from the Honeyville store in Rancho Cucamonga. The #10 can of tomato powder weighed 3.25 lbs, cost $22.39. They do need to QA their label because it has two directions for making tomato sauce with the powder. I think the directions using less water is actually meant for making tomato paste.

After opening the #10 can I wanted to put the contents into mason jars that could be vacuum sealed to give it a longer shelf life. The powder in the can filled two quart jars, one pint jar with just enough left over to put into a half-pint jar. The smaller half-pint jar I will keep on the counter for daily use. I’ll also use a white plastic cap instead of vacuum sealing it.

On the lid of the three jars that I vacuum sealed, I wrote the following information:

If you can’t read it in the picture, here is what I wrote: Honeyville, Tomato Powder Opened 01/26/12, 5 – 10 years. This is all the information I need to know about the product. I’m thinking I should also write the lot number from the bottom of the can on the lids too so I can further identify them.

If you think that’s a lot of information to write on the lid, especially if I’m going to be reusing them… I have a trick I learned from PrepperA on Katzcradul channel on how to remove permanent marker from lids. I use this trick every time I need to remove permanent marker from metal, glass, plastic, ziploc bags… I haven’t found a time when this neat little Expo pen trick didn’t work.

Back to the tomato powder… I used it last night to make pizza sauce. I used my favorite pizza sauce recipe, but instead of using canned diced tomatoes and tomato paste. I used canned tomato sauce and three tablespoons of tomato powder. It worked perfectly! The tomato powder made the sauce very nice, thick and rich. This is something I will be definitely adding to my food storage.

Now I’m off to go can the London Broil that I got on sale?? at Smart & Final yesterday. The reason I question the “sale” price is because I remember when I could get London Broil for $1.79/lb on “sale”. I haven’t seen it anywhere near that price in the past six months. I bought four packages at $2.99/lb, and that was considered a sale. I guess we all need to start changing what we consider sale prices. 😦

><>~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~<><
After these things I looked, and behold, a door standing open in heaven.
And the first voice which I heard was like a trumpet speaking with me, saying,
“Come up here, and I will show you things which must take place after this.”
Revelation 4:1 (NKJV)

This entry was posted in #10 cans, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Honeyville Tomato Powder Review

  1. Vicki Walton says:

    Just checking back in to let you know that I won’t be trying your pizza crust and sauce (at least for a while) and it’s all your fault! After your post about buying food at the dollar store recently, I decided to pop on over and have a look for myself. Big Lots is nearby so I went there, too. I have never even bothered to look at the food because I do all my grocery shopping at Wal-Mart. They had packaged pizza crusts and jarred pizza sauce for $1.00 each. The crusts are thin (would be great for a Mexican style pizza). I bought a couple for my teens to try out on a night my husband and I weren’t around, and they LOVED it. They used the pepperoni from the Dollar Tree and said it all was great. There was some sauce left that I sampled, and it really was good! I dashed back the next day and bought many more. We usually buy a large pizza for around $10.00 for the four of us. Even with a lot of different toppings of meat, cheese, and vegetables, we can have pizza for half the price. So it’s a win/win. Sadly, it might be a while until I try your recipes. Thanks for the inspiration to try the food in the dollar stores. I was very pleasantly surprised!

    • GrammyTammi says:

      That’s awesome Vicki!!! I’m glad you found deals at the Dollar Tree. I must admit that once a week I walk up and down every aisle to see what I can find. 🙂 I haven’t seen the pizza crusts at my local store yet, but I did find five cartons of shelf stable Borden Half & Half!!! I got them but now I have to find recipes that use Half & Half… LOL!

      On a side note… My grandmother’s name was Victoria, most people called her Vicky… and my new grandbaby is named Victoria, but we call her Tori. 🙂

      T <

  2. Pingback: Honeyville food | Addapost

  3. Connie says:

    Speaking of things you can buy at the dollar store, I asked the man at the greenhouse the other day what I could do (if anything) about whatever always eats my turnips and radishes (and he added, carrots). He thought I was probably talking about wireworms or what I call inch worms, maybe they’re even loopworms??? Anyway, I think this tip would work for all of them. He recommended I go to the dollar store and buy a bunch of cheap coarse black pepper and sprinkle that in the holes before transplanting those seedings. He said the pepper won’t hurt any plants, so I might just throw it in everywhere I am putting root crops (beets, fennel, potatoes, onions, etc.).

Leave a Reply

