Recipe Testing – Tuna Casserole


Finally! I get to test a recipe using 100% food storage. I’ve been waiting for this day for quite a while. Before I get started, I want to let you know that my plan is to eventually have all the tested recipes in PDF format. This will make printing easier. As soon as I have all the logistics figured out, I’ll post to let you know how to get the PDF files.

Okay, so the first recipe is tuna casserole in a pot. For this test, I’m also going to see if I can cook the noodles with nothing but hot water from a kettle. Let’s get started!

INGREDIENTS:
1 box Mac & Cheese
1 can sweet peas
1 can chunk white tuna
3 tablespoons butter powder
1 teaspoon powdered milk
1/4 cup hot water + 4 cups for cooking noodles

NOTES:
I originally added 5 tablespoons of butter and 1/2 cup of hot water. This was way too much butter and the casserole was a little moister than I like. So I’ve changed the amounts to those listed above.

DIRECTIONS:
1. Pour Mac & Cheese noodles into a pot (or casserole) and cover with 4 cups of boiling water from kettle. Cover and let stand for 12 minutes. Check to see if noodles are done, if not, continue checking every 1 minute until they are cooked. Drain excess water.
2. While noodles are cooking, open and drain both cans (tuna and peas).
3. Flake tuna with a fork.
4. Add powdered cheese mix, butter powder, powdered milk and 1/4 cup of hot kettle water to drained noodles.
4. Stir to combine all ingredients.
5. Fold in tuna and peas.
6. Enjoy!

It was that simple, and YES the noodles did cook with just the boiling water from the kettle! The package directions indicate that the noodles should be boiled for 7 minutes. My timer showed it took 15+ minutes to get the noodles cooked. I will start checking them at 12 minutes next time because they were a little overcooked for my tastes. After mixing all the ingredients the casserole did cool down and we had to put it in the microwave to warm it up. I’m going to do another test and see if I can boil the water and keep the casserole warm in the Sun Oven. If that test works, we’ll be able to make this meal completely from food storage and off the grid! Woohoo! One dinner down, 13 or so to go.

Now let me show you some really useful tools that I used while preparing the casserole. The first is my Smooth-Edge Can Opener from Pampered Chef. There are other companies that make this same kind of can opener. Basically it removes the can at the seam that was formed when the can was sealed. I know they are pricey, but in an emergency situation, it’s worth it to not have to worry about how to dispose of sharp-edged lids. I think having more than one can opener is a good idea, so I’m planning to buy another one. Quoting from Preparedness Pro, “Remember, 3 is 2; 2 is 1; and 1 is none.” 

The second tool is also from Pampered Chef, it’s a can strainer. You can use it for both tuna and vegetable cans. I use this so much that I actually have two of them. And a little tip, I don’t throw away the liquid the from cans. I drain them over a little bucket that I keep on the kitchen counter. Then I add water to the bucket before I use its contents to water my outside plants. I know, I know! You probably think that is way above and beyond, but here in the desert, every drop of moisture is valuable. Besides, I think the plants like the little extra food that’s in the liquid. I also add the water I drain from cooking pasta to the bucket.

Let’s see, what else do I have for you today. Oh yes… the Augason Farms cans. Here are pictures of the butter and milk when I opened them. I think the volume in the cans was good. I think if they filled them any higher, product would have come out when I was taking off the lids. Which, by the way, are pull tab lids for these smaller cans.

   

Well, now that the testing of one meal is done, I’m feeling like I’ve accomplished something. I have lots more to test, much more to learn, so I’m off to do more research. Thank you for joining me on this journey.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ <><
The word “tested” occurs 26 times in 27 verses in the NKJV.

This entry was posted in Equipment, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Recipe Testing – Tuna Casserole

  1. Mom says:

    I love that you’re not wasting the liquids. I bet the plants do love the nutrient rich water. My motto is recycle, recycle, recycle.

  2. Pingback: Augason Farms Order | My Food Storage Journey

  3. Pingback: White Bread Baked In The Sun Oven | My Food Storage Journey

Leave a comment